Google Chrome resource hog?

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by airdata, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. airdata

    airdata Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently switched to chrome from firefox for my main browsing needs and have really liked chrome.

    However... does chrome really need to have a process for each tab?

    Right now i have a bunch of tabs opened. So in task manager i have 13 chrome.exe processes ranging from 18MB to 180MB using a total of 773MB out of my total 2GB of memory...

    Is there any way to fix this? A web browser shouldn't be using that amount of resources.
     
  2. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Win7 system
    I have 8 processes with 3 Chrome tabs opened - total of 270M
    5 IE9 tabs - 6 processes - total of 800M
     
  3. Maximilian

    Maximilian Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have found chrome to be very efficient with resources, i made a thread about it here an hour ago. In fact on further usage the difference between firefox and chrome on my netbook is staggering. With chrome it feels like im using a desktop again!
     
  4. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    And you can't even just blindly add them up like that because there's going to be a significant amount of memory shared between the processes.
     
  5. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Applications sharing processes or the tabs sharing?
     
  6. DominionSeraph

    DominionSeraph Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8,275
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, just as you don't really need to have a GUI, a mouse, a color display, or internet access.

    http://blog.chromium.org/2008/09/multi-process-architecture.html

    There's nothing to fix.

    Says you.
     
  7. DirkGently1

    DirkGently1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had 250 Tabs open in Chrome across a dozen windows on my system, (that has 4GB of RAM), whilst simultaneously running a full Security Essentials scan and RTHDRIBL. Every single Chrome tab was as responsive to use as if it were the only one open.

    It's a pretty decent Browser considering!

    [​IMG]

    I was testing Hardware Acceleration, among other things!
     
    #7 DirkGently1, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  8. airdata

    airdata Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, Thanks for posting that.

    Well, If I had 2GB and Chrome is using what... 40&#37; memory, something is wrong w\ that. Unless as somebody else said some of that memory is overlapping

    Not bashing chrome at all... I really like it. Just found it curious that half of my open processes are chrome.exe and each is using a chunk of memory.
     
    #8 airdata, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  9. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both.
     
  10. Chiropteran

    Chiropteran Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    8,841
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. Monolithic single-process applications are a thing of the past, as they don't scale with multiple CPU cores. If a task can be efficiently broken into a new process, it absolutely should be done.


    How do you figure? The memory used is highly dependent on the content being viewed. If you are viewing enough crap in all your tabs to add up to 800MB, Chrome is going to have to use 800MB+.
     
    #10 Chiropteran, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  11. 86waterpumper

    86waterpumper Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    compared to firefox or any other browser, chrome is a racehorse. I could care less how much memory it uses. It is responsive and fast and the program loads in a fifth of the time it takes others to open. Memory is cheap as can be right now, no reason at all to be running 2gb unless it's a netbook or something...plus alot of it depends on what webpage you are on, not so much the browser itself
     
  12. Envian

    Envian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you see the Chrome's built in task manager? You can open it by pressing Shift+ESC and see wich pages or plugins eat the most memory :)