Good place to find building plans for workbench?

EQTitan

Diamond Member
Jun 4, 2004
I'd like to build a workbench on my basement but I have no clue where to begin, I've only ever put walls up, and built simple nook desks.

I've tried searching online with no good results. Any insight would be greatly appreciated....

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
I built this

a few months ago following these exact plans. I have no carpentry experience. It took me a few hours. I got the 2X4s from home depot and had them cut them, so then all I needed was the sheet of ply (also had them cut that) and my drill, a long drill bit, and some deck screws.

The thing is solid like a mother-@*#(er. I think it could be thrown off a cliff. Shockingly and quite inexplicably, after I put it together the thing ended up being totally flat on the ground; it doesn't rock _at all_ so no sanding of legs required on their bottom.

Oh, I also bought a plastic square for a few bucks (that's the thing that shows right angles).

Now, you don't have to do 32" height. I'd actually think about going a bit higher, depending on your own height. Also feel free, as I didn't and should have, to make it much longer.

That claims it can be made for $20. I think I may have spent closer to $30 in wood, but who's counting, it was a great build and I use it all the time.

KMc

Golden Member
Jan 26, 2007
I built mine in a similar fashion to the plans above, but for the top I used an unfinished interior door (solid wood core).

EQTitan

Diamond Member
Jun 4, 2004
That was a great article and my bench will be about 16' - 20' long (taking up the whole length of my back basement wall)

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
Originally posted by: KMc
I built mine in a similar fashion to the plans above, but for the top I used an unfinished interior door (solid wood core).