Good KDE distro for everyday use

dkm777

Nov 21, 2010
Hi guys,

I must say first that I dabble in Linux from time to time and I'm not a beginner, but I don't really like digging around the system just to make things work that should be working in the first place.

Anyway, with the future of Windows looking bleak I think now is the time to start looking at alternatives. I used to use a Mac, but it got old and I just couldn't justify buying another one just to have a current web browser and gave it away. That leaves me with Linux. Since Gnome 3 and Unity strive to be something I don't really understand that leaves me with just KDE. I don't care that it is heavy on the resources - I'll be throwing six cores at it and gobs or RAM.

So, what is a well-built KDE distro that doesn't break after a few updates? I learned my lesson after I foolishly installed Arch on my file server - a joy to use over SSH, no doubt, but after one update wrecked just about everything I had to get really creative to get my files off of it.

tl;dr - KDE distro wanted, stable preferred.

lxskllr

No Lifer
Nov 30, 2004
I'd go with Kubuntu 12.04, and keep it until 2014 when the next LTS release comes out. Software starts getting a little crusty towards the end, but between ppas and backports, you can have a nice modern experience.

dkm777

Nov 21, 2010
Good idea, I totally forgot about Ubuntu's LTS releases. Gonna try it in a VM tonight. And I also wanted to ask whether it's possible to move a VirtualBox VM to a real bootable hard disk?

lxskllr

No Lifer
Nov 30, 2004
And I also wanted to ask whether it's possible to move a VirtualBox VM to a real bootable hard disk?

I believe it is, but it isn't something I've ever done. Search should help you out with that.

Jodell88

Diamond Member
Jan 29, 2007