GOOD Java tutorials?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Tweak155, Nov 21, 2012.

1. Tweak155

Tweak155 Lifer

I've searched Google and have not found a very good Java tutorial. I would particularly be interested in how to start creating GUI's.

I found a GUI example that just seemed like a headache. I'm too babied by VBA & VB.NET gui's to make a gui. Am I missing something like this for Java?

I need help as I am a decent programmer and learn languages fairly quickly - but learning environments I'm as handicapped as they come.

So to be clear, even very good Hello World examples that talk about points of Java (something that explains WHY we're doing something, not just how) or slightly more complex would be useful.

TIA!

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - GOOD Java tutorials Forum Date
    Java client/server Programming Feb 7, 2017
    Need help with JAVA Programming Apr 11, 2007

3. beginner99

beginner99 Platinum Member

My 2 cents:

If you really need to make desktop GUI, don't use Java unless you really need support on Linux (or non-Windows). For Windows, stay with .net.

Netbeans IDE has a usable GUI Editor like Visual Studio with drag & drop of controls.

http://netbeans.org/kb/docs/java/quickstart-gui.html

If you need a rather advanced client and GUI maybe look at this (never used myself so can't tell if good)

http://netbeans.org/features/platform/

But IMHO in general java is better suited for server side.

4. LumbergTech

LumbergTech Diamond Member

Java is super easy to do most GUI stuff in. As long as you know general GUI concepts, you are good to go. Just grab netbeans and use the visual editor to simplify the layout aspect.

5. LumbergTech

LumbergTech Diamond Member

6. IHateMyJob2004

AHHHHHHHHHH.

GUIs in Java are easy. Stop using these stupid layout tools. Just learn the language and learn the Eclipse IDE.

http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/uiswing/

Once you learn Eclipse and how Swing works you can create GUIs blind.

7. postmortemIA