Good HT 5.1 system for $600?

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by audionoobie8954, Nov 28, 2012.

1. audionoobie8954

audionoobie8954 Junior Member

Hi all,

I am looking for a good 5.1 Home theatre system. Primary use will be mostly Satellite HD DVR, some blu-ray movies and some music from iphone.. My budget is about $600. This should cover the AV receiver and 5.1 speaker set.

Some basic research has yielded the following options:

1) Onkyo HT-S9400THX 7.1-Channel Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package (Bookshelf)
    Onkyo HT-S8409/7500 7.1-Channel Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package (Tower)
    2) Yamaha YHT-897 5.1-Channel Network Home Theater System (Tower)

Since this will be my first HT and I am a newbie, please recommend which of the above or something similar would be best for me? The Onkyo with thx and the yamaha with airplay both seem attractive. I am probably ok with pairing different AVR and speakers if there is significant difference. I am looking to buy in Feb '13 so prices are likely to hopefully reduce by then.
    I plan to also buy a 40" LCD-LED TV (no 3D) to complete my HT system. (budget is $500)
    Thanks again

2. sdifox

sdifox No Lifer

room configuration?

3. Number1

Number1 Diamond Member

People have been recommending these items in here. Very good budget systems. Superb values. I think you would be hard pressed to find better for the price.

Jamo S426 speaker package $169

Denon AVR 1612 $189.00

I am sure somebody else can recommend a decent sub woofer.

4. Vdubchaos

Vdubchaos Lifer

Probably this + PSW505 Polk Sub ($180-200)

Denon/Yamaha or Pioneer all have sub $200 receivers.

Some other options:
    Polk Monitor 30s Bookshelves ($60-70)
    Polk CS1 Center ($60-80)

And just wait to get the Monitor 50 or 60 Towers down the road/move Monitor 30s to the back.

I paid $80 a pop for Monitor 50s....

Don't bother with Onkyo or Yamaha speakers.....both Polks and Jamo are great options

5. cheez

cheez Golden Member