Going from Quickbooks to Quicken 2011

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by memory, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. memory

    memory Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    My dad has a little problem with his Quicken files. He bought Quicken Home and Business 2011 off of ebay. It was a electronic download only, did not say that anywhere in the description. Well, the file said it was Quicken but after he installed it, it turned out to be Quickbooks.

    He did not want Quickbooks so he uninstalled that and installed a different Quicken 2011. Now he can't open his quicken files because it can't convert it from Quickbooks to Quicken.

    Is there a way to open his Quicken files with Quicken or are we out of luck? I read somewhere on the internet that you can't go from Quickbooks to Quicken.
     
  2. FoxFifth

    FoxFifth Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it's possible based on the following:

    Quote from: http://quicken.intuit.com/support/articles/using-quicken/income-and-expenses/2226.html

    "It is not possible to convert any QuickBooks data file to any version of Quicken."


    The following quote is from http://web.intuit.com/support/quicken/service/unlock/6201.html

    "Quicken cannot convert QuickBooks data because QuickBooks data files contain many elements for which Quicken has no support mechanism. You can, however, convert Quicken data files (except Investment Accounts) automatically to the same or higher version of QuickBooks. This is a one-way conversion, however; once Quicken data has been converted to QuickBooks, it cannot be restored in Quicken."
     
  3. bruceb

    bruceb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    3
  4. memory

    memory Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    There was a misunderstanding. Quickbooks was never installed, Quicken Home and Business was. He has always used Quicken Premier in the past and it seems that installing Home and Business has messed the files up. He has Quicken Premier installed now and it can not open the files. It is having trouble converting the files.

    Should you be able to go back and forth between different versions of Quicken with no trouble converting the files?
     
  5. bruceb

    bruceb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    3
Loading...