Going from Pentium III 500Mhz to 900Mhz Thunderbird.....Is it worth it?

SammyUSMC

Aug 19, 2000
I just got a deal to upgrade my computer from a Pentium III 500 to a 900MHz thunderbird. I'd just like to know what kind of performance increases/decreases I should get. I've always stuck to Pentium/Intel processors from day 1 and this is my first time to the "other side."

What category does the thunderbird fall under? I mean, is it value based like Celeron or is it AMD's current high end? I'm mostly concerned with performance expectations however, keeping in mind I'm also going from a 2x motherboard to 4x, and 128Mb 100Mhz Ram to 128Mb 133Mhz Ram, and keeping my Geforce DDR (Hercules).

PliotronX

Diamond Member
Oct 17, 1999
In games, it should give you a nice increase in framerate. In Windows, you might notice a difference, but encoding MP3s, running RC5, and the like should be more than twice as fast.

Dark4ng3l

Diamond Member
Sep 17, 2000
The thunderbird can beat a p3 at same clock speed. The duron(value like celeron) is about 95% of a p3's performance(it massacres the celeron + its cheaper)

Noriaki

Lifer
Jun 3, 2000
The Athlon is high-end desktop same class as Pentium3.
Thunderbird is the 2nd revsion of Athlon (much like Coppermine is the 2nd revision of P3).
If you care the Duron is value desktop, in the same category as Celeron. They are NOT in the same performance class, but they are in the same category....barely...

The TBird and P3 are pretty even at the same clock speed in games, the P3 has a slight edge but not much. The Athlon's FPU outclasses the P3 by a good margin, if you are into RC5 cracking, or heavy duty professional 3D work then AMD's CPUs are definately for you. For games they are pretty close.

A P3-500 to an TBird 900 is quite a decent jump. With a DDR GeForce you should notice a decent jump in performance.