Gigabyte GTX 660 OC or PNY GTX 660 TI?

flexy

Diamond Member
Sep 28, 2001
(I am upgrading from a very old, VERY loud, annoying and hot GTX 275)

I am on a budget and usually would get the Gigabyte 660 OC since I heard so many good things about it, especially the cooling/noise.

There is a PNY GTX 660 TI which is only €20 or so more and of course the TI would be "better", since it's a TI.

My concern is

* NOISE

There is likely no chance in hell that ANY of those is as loud and hot as my old GTX 275, but I am wondering whether someone would say they would rather get the Gigabyte NON TI - or is this a no-brainer and I should get the PNY TI instead? I have no experience with PNY whatsoever, the other brands TI are out of the question because of the price.

I read a few reviews about the PNY and people say they're overall satisfied, except that SOME complained about some annoying fan noise at high load, although some said they couldn't hear anything while gaming, just while folding. Mind you, I dont mind normal "fan noise" if its reasonable, I just dont want to get the PNY and then find out it has some annoying high-pitch or particular annoying fan noise while gaming.

ALTERNATIVELY...I could of course get the Gigabyte, save €20 or so bucks and be happy with it until GTX 7xx budget cards come out?

Last edited:

nextJin

Golden Member
Apr 16, 2009
They both have the same noise level and the Ti card has significantly more value for that price.

Termie

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2005
www.techbuyersguru.com
They both have the same noise level and the Ti card has significantly more value for that price.

That's actually entirely wrong.

The Gigabyte 660, if based on the windforce design, will be very quiet. The PNY 660ti, which I believe is only available in a reference model, will be quite loud, and in particular is likely the loudest graphics card at idle in this generation due to a poor cooler design that actually vibrates due to the fan.

nextJin

Golden Member