Getting started with the Civilization series?

BlueWeasel

Lifer
Jun 2, 2000
Being intrigued by the praise for Civilization, I recently picked up both Civ3 and Civ4 Complete (Civ4 with both expansions plus Colonization). My main focus is with Civ4, as Civ3 seems too dated and I don't like its fixed resolution.

I've never played the series until now, and I feel somewhat overwhelmed with information but underwhelmed with the gameplay. I'm more of an action gamer, so maybe TBS aren't my thing. FYI, I don't play other strategy games (RTS, etc.) much either.

Other than Civ4's tutorial, are there any other tutorials or scenarios that are good for new players and might also help to draw me in?

Was also thinking about renting Civ Revolution for the 360, as it's simpler with faster gameplay than Civ on the PC. I'm sure it's considered dumbed-down, but would that be a good starting point for a n00b?

schneiderguy

Lifer
Jun 26, 2006
When I started playing Civ I just jumped right in. You'll learn things as you go along. If you put the difficulty on one of the easier levels you'll be able to just play and not have to worry about things like city specialization and such.

If you want a tutorial civfanatics is a great resource. This looks like a decent starter's guide.

Don't bother with Civ Revolution.

Last edited:

AnonymouseUser

Diamond Member
May 14, 2003
When I started playing Civ I just jumped right in. You'll learn things as you go along. If you put the difficulty on one of the easier levels you'll be able to just play and not have to worry about things like city specialization and such.

If you want a tutorial civfanatics is a great resource. This looks like a decent starter's guide.

Don't bother with Civ Revolution.

civfanatics is an excellent resource which helped me tremendously.

One word of advice: don't forget to go to bed!

nova2

Feb 3, 2006
"I feel somewhat overwhelmed with information"
you will at first, but give it time.