Getting Lasik Tomorrow!

TygGer

Feb 20, 2003
I have a copy of my Orbscan in front of me and it shows all sorts of measurements. One measurement is the pupil diameter. Mine are 4.2 mm and 4.4 mm for my left and right eye. Is this the measurement they use to determine if your pupils are too large? I was told mine are on the larger side, but can still be done using the CustomVue Wavefront technology on the VISX Star 4 excimer.

Secondly, has anyone heard of long effects... 10, 20, etc years down the road? I'm not even sure how long lasik has been around... I would guess at least 10yrs. I read that having lasik done could accelerate the development of cataracts as you get older. Supposedly, everyone develops some cataracts as you get older, some worse than others.

Lastly, I was told that even years down the road, there were still possibilities that the flap could become dislodged in the event of a severe eye trauma. To me, this means that the flap does not heal 100% like it were never cut. This is acceptable to me as I'm not a boxer or professional athlete and I don't personally know of anyone's flap becoming dislodged, but it's not unheard of. I would like to know if riding roller coasters or having strong winds blown on your face (eg. in car going +60 mph with head out of window) could effect the flap? (I dont plan on doing this, just curious about how sensitive the flap will become)

Any comments welcomed! Please post! Today is the last day before I get teh procedure done.

Thanks

lokiju

Lifer
May 29, 2003
I had it done in 2003 and haven't had any issues.

I've been to water parks with water blasting me in the face, I've been on rollercoasters, in cars with he windows open, etc...

No issues whatsoever, I think the whole flap thing is more a disclaimer but is very unlikely.

funboy6942

Lifer
Nov 13, 2001
Originally posted by: MS Dawn
Do it yourself and save a TON of money! :laugh: