Geek Squad on CBS 60 Minutes NOW!

Apr 17, 2005
what are they gonna talk about?

edit: after watching that, my family should be grateful that i do all this shit for them for free.

TruePaige

Diamond Member
Oct 22, 2006
I work there.

...I can spend an entire day doing nothing but setting up new laptops with security suites and creating restore discs. We are so backed up half the time it's not funny.

We came in 3 hours before the store opened today and just barely got all our shipping done, and nothing else is getting done because an entire mob of people were waiting for the doors to open so they could get the new sales items, so the whole day will be spent personalizing computers and troubleshooting networking issues. =p

WraithETC

Golden Member
May 15, 2005
Professor guy "Some people say you need an engineering degree from MIT to work these things, I have an engineering degree from MIT!"

Dunbar

Platinum Member
Feb 19, 2001
I'm surprised people are willing to spend so much to have Geeksquad fix a computer they probably paid well under $1000 for. At least based on what people have told me they charge ($200-$500).

TruePaige

Diamond Member
Oct 22, 2006
Originally posted by: Dunbar
I'm surprised people are willing to spend so much to have Geeksquad fix a computer they probably paid well under $1000 for. At least based on what people have told me they charge ($200-$500).

most people spend about 200 and we install anti-viral, anti-spyware software, configure a rootkit sweep, pre-fill all your bootup info, uninstall trialware, and burn your recovery discs.

If you want to spend about 500 you'd have to get that, plus a data backup and transfer from an old PC.

JasonCoder

Golden Member
Feb 23, 2005
Seriously, geek squad people should educate users to not run as an admin. Then you don't even have to run virus bloatware and security "packages". That and an affordable backup solution would cost about the same or less.