Games are un-educational? really?

Borealis7

Platinum Member
Oct 19, 2006
When I have kids, I will FORCE them to play computer games!
growing up through my teen years I have learned so much from playing computer games. from foreign languages (which english is to me) to History, Physics, Literature, Math and strategic thinking.

I started playing games around age 9. I knew very little english but enough to discern some key words. One day my father brought me a weird game, like nothing i've ever played before, I wasn't old enough to understand it but spending lots of time on it I eventually got the point. that game was Civilization 1.

the more I got into the game, the more I had to read english instructions and paragraphs about history and everything that has to do with the game.
so basically, Sid Meier (sp?) was my english teacher.

later on, after I knew ho to speak english well and I matured a bit, I started playing fantasy RPGs which exposed me to the more literary side of english. I expanded my vocabulary in ways I couldn't have gotten from mainstream media such as TV or films. (books don't count...I dont enjoy reading that much)

To anyone who says computer games "corrupt our youths" I say pick better games for your children to play. So Thank You oh "wonderful computer games industry" for enriching our lives.

Lonyo

Lifer
Aug 10, 2002
There are a lot of ways in which games can be educational (even non-educational games) in terms of approaching problems etc as well.
But the other value which can be gained (outside the game itself) is if it then causes someone to get an interest in something that they then develop outside the game, like reading more about WW2 if they've been playing a WW2 game, or reading more about ancient history due to Age of Empires/Total War etc.

There are lots of ways in which games can be good outside just giving people a direct lesson.

Smilin

Diamond Member
Mar 4, 2002
My dad bought this for my original IBM PCjr when I was a kid...