Gainward Ti4200 Question: Video editing + Games

SnakeEyes45

Aug 14, 2002
I'm going to be getting an Gainward Ti4200 soon for my P4 2.26-based setup. Mostly for games, but I think I'll eventually be using it (<4 months) for some video editing. I'm a total newbie on the video editing side of things, so I have some basic questions...

Assuming I get a digital camcorder (e.g., Canon, or Sony PC110 or PC101) with a FireWire link, I'll just hook it up to my computer via FireWire. However, I will want to transfer some of my video to video-tape for distribution to family members. Will want to transfer to VHS both pre-edited and after some post-editing. Will I use any of the features of the Gainward cards to accomplish this? Can I just do this with the camcorder? I'm not sure.

I'm considering either the 128Mb version with TV-Out, or the 128Mb VIVO version. Basically, the question comes down to what does the VIVO version get me in relation to video editing.

Thanks for your thoughts and guidance!

Mavrick007

Diamond Member
Dec 19, 2001
Well, if you're going to use firewire, you don't have to worry about using the video-in option of a vid card (it will be alot faster to go with firewire too not to mention you will probably have better quality).

If you want to put it back out to tape, I don't know if you would want to use the tv-out part either cause the quality will probably be pretty poor cause it's not meant to be used as an editing tool. You would probably want to use a better card meant for outputting video (like a better capture card which will allow you to input or output). The GF4 won't be terrible for outputting to video, but it will look crappy if you plan on keeping the vhs tape for sometime.