GA-F2A68HM-DS2 (rev1.1) CPU Voltage Setting in BIOS

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by ao_ika_red, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. ao_ika_red

    ao_ika_red Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    102
    Hello everyone.
    I need help to configure my CPU voltage manually. I'm using X4 860k CPU.
    From my adventure around internet, I knew that 860k can be run safely under 1.3V in stock condition. The problem is, I can't set voltage value manually in BIOS. Doing it via AMD OverDrive tool is pretty unreliable for the long run. It's just frustating knowing that I can do something to lower my CPU temperature but I can't find the right way.
    Any opinion is more than helpful.

    Cheers.

    Edit: This particular mobo used voltage offset mode to manipulate CPU core voltage. It can be set in positive (+x.xxxV) value, but it can't be set the other way around (negative value can't be entered).
     
    #1 ao_ika_red, Nov 26, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - F2A68HM (rev1 Voltage Forum Date
    GA-F2A68HM-H Assistance Please Motherboards Sep 5, 2015
    PC won't boot in 1866 w/ GA-F2A68HM-H Motherboards Jun 10, 2015
    Gigabyte X58A-Ud5 Rev1 questions Motherboards Sep 5, 2010
    Gigabyte P55A Rev1 & Rev2 Differences Motherboards Jun 16, 2010
    Problem in Giga 680ISLI DQ6 rev1 Motherboards Jun 13, 2008

  3. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Super Moderator
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,886
    Likes Received:
    2,135
    Sounds like a limitation of the board's firmware. Maybe contact the mfg, for a beta BIOS build, that allows for negative vcore offsets?
     
  4. ao_ika_red

    ao_ika_red Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    102
    Thanks Larry. I don't aware if there's such limitation from manufacturer. I have sent my question to Gigabyte, hopefully they will solve this issue. I'll update on this page as soon as I get any reply from Gigabyte.
     
  5. ao_ika_red

    ao_ika_red Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    102
    Got reply from Gigabyte, unfortunately it's a bad news. Basically, they said that my board doesn't support undervolting due to design limitation. I can afford to overvolt / overclock it, but it's not my taste, though.