GA-990FXA-UD3 + 8120 Bulldozer = freezing

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by jphoto801, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. jphoto801

    jphoto801 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wondering if others have had this combo and issue previously.

    GA-990FXA-UD3 is revision 1.0, with bios F8. This CPU is supported by bios F3 and higher.

    It works fine as a quad-core, the CPU is running very cool as either quad or eight-core, as I'm not placing any load on this machine at all. It's just sitting there running Windows 7 x64.

    When in eight-core mode, the GUI (minutes after booting) begins hitching and freezing, eventually the machine freezes (10 minutes or less). This feels like an overheating issue, but nothing seems to be overheating.

    The Northbridge of motherboard is very hot, but equally so in quad and eight-core mode, and from what I read, that is normal of the 990FX (running hot, that is).
     
    #1 jphoto801, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - 990FXA Bulldozer freezing Forum Date
    Which Motherboard Is Better? (New Member) Motherboards Oct 23, 2016
    GD-990FXA-UD3 Power blips on and off (replacement suggestions?) Motherboards Apr 29, 2014
    ASUS M5A97 evo OR Msi 990FXA-GD65 Motherboards Mar 15, 2014
    GA-990FXA-UD3 vs M5A99X EVO Motherboards Feb 10, 2014
    Upgrading an XPS 400 to temporarily use until bulldozer come's out Motherboards Aug 13, 2011

  3. NXIL

    NXIL Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you run Memtest?

    How are you checking CPU temps? BIOS? Or some program? I recall reading that some temp reading software is unreliable.

    If hot northbridge suspect: try running it with case open and fan blowing on NB

    Machine freezes: no blue screen?

    If you don't have memtest--maybe download a live cd/usb linux, and run that....see if there is something in your windows install that is an issue.

    Power supply good? Voltages on power supply looking OK?
     
    #2 NXIL, Oct 28, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  4. jphoto801

    jphoto801 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize for not returning earlier, I did solve the issue. It's rather nonsensical. The highest non-beta BIOS for this board was F8 (more on that in a minute), and as I stated this CPU is supported as of F3 and later.

    I had exhausted every possible way of troubleshooting this thing:

    Power supply was very good. An Antec Quattro 850 that I've used in other, more demanding systems without a hitch. Northbridge hot = normal for this chipset. Running an older Phenom CPU I borrowed = worked great.

    I finally said "what the hell" and flashed with the only newer BIOS available. The beta F9 (I see it has since left beta, as of the 22ed, so annoyingly I missed this by only a few days, as the build and flash to F8 was done on the 20th). Suddenly I have eight-cores running just perfectly for many hours and surviving any stress test I can toss at it.

    I can't really explain it.