fx 4100 performance

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by sarthakyadav, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. sarthakyadav

    sarthakyadav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    hiiii everyone..
    Finally i got my fx 4100..and msi g970a-g46 4days back..and paired it with my gtx 550 ti and corsair vengeance 4gb 1600mhz..
    and it is quite an upgrade over my earlier one(athlon x2 5200+)...
    I am playing Medal of honor warfighter singleplayer at ultra settings(motion blur off) on my native 1366x768 res with avg 35-40 fps...is dat bad?(i really am asking)
    though never in my life saw so indulging graphics(i know frostbite 2!)..
    though sometimes frame rates drop.but rarely..
    i also play fifa13 maxed out(at 1366x768)..

    but i don know y but sometimes fifa stutters(vsync on and fraps showing 60fps constant)...
    wat do u thing...should i add another 4gb ram....will it give my system a perfromance boost?
    and my cpu never goes above 55' celsius...is dat ok tooo?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - performance Forum Date
    Apple A11 Bionic performance CPUs and Overclocking Oct 3, 2017
    HyperThreading holding back performance in lighter threaded games. CPUs and Overclocking Sep 26, 2017
    measuring games performance across CPU and GPU CPUs and Overclocking Sep 26, 2017
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES Introduces New 12nm FinFET Technology for High-Performance Applications CPUs and Overclocking Sep 20, 2017
    CPU performance improvements over last 15-20 years CPUs and Overclocking Aug 16, 2017

  3. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Games are usually GPU dependent and with 550ti you are looking at a bottleneck in shader heavy games. As for fifa,I know some people have issues with this game so it's not only your system. Maybe it's a swap file,try adding another 4GB or ram.

    Also since you have unlocked FX chip,it's practically a shame to hold it down at measly 3.6Ghz ;). Don't touch the volts and shoot for 4.2Ghz with no Turbo and with power savings on. It takes 3 settings in bios: CPU multiplier change to 21x(21x200), Turbo setting-> off and APM/power saving->on.
     
  4. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    138
    The FX4100 should be able to reach FX4170 speeds. As inf64 wrote its almost a shame to run it at stock... :)
     
  5. sarthakyadav

    sarthakyadav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    man i jst want to give it a breeze of a time before overclocking it...i know my mobo is gud enough for an overclock...but i don want to experiment with it right now...

    about the gtx 550 ti sorry dude upgraded a month ago no possibilities in that region..
    anyways thanx for the quick reply frnds...
     
  6. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    55
    Congrats on the system! Come back and share your overclocking stores with us some time.
     
  7. sarthakyadav

    sarthakyadav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx...yeeah sure...i just got persuaded and overclocked my system using oc genie 2 (msi overclock utility) since i didnt want to take any risks...it reched 4 ghz with ease...but a lil bit more heat...!!
    anyways...
    thanx again
     
  8. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe that Warfighter uses the same build as Battlefield 3, which I play. It makes a gigantic difference in going from 4GB to 8GB. Loading is faster, less hitching, just a good move for the $.
     
  9. Magic Carpet

    Magic Carpet Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gigantic difference? Is it like going from single-core to dual-core? ;-p
     
  10. ArmyVet88

    ArmyVet88 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0

    Im so pumped i just built my rig. I have touch Bios on my motherboard and will be attempting my first OC job ever!! on this processor. I cant wait:ninja:
     
  11. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember being even more pumped then you back in 2007 when i replaced a pentium 4 and a 7800gs agp with a core 2 duo e6750 and a 8800gts 512mb , it blew me away so much i didn't even bother to oc it,only after i swapped in a Q6600 did i get ballsy and oc it.^_^

    Very happy your happy with the new system.:)
     
  12. ArmyVet88

    ArmyVet88 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea boss, to be honest i began my journey into computer hardware about 2 months ago. I got out of the military in 2010 after 2 tours in Afghanistan. Moved back to my hometown with my wife and went right back into construction, (plumbing and heating- i went to a technical highschool) I woke up about 3 months ago and looked at my wife and told her i hated my life (mostly job). My back and knees are shot from jumping out of airplanes, and plumbing is not the best thing for your knees haha. I am only 25 and was kind of sick to my stomach about my future. Then i really just started doing research and what not. I became so thirsty for knowledge. I have been doing nothing but self teaching and an old buddy of mine has a degree in computer science. So well just nerd out for like 2 hours now and bullshit about builds. Hopefully this Fall or next Spring i will be able to enroll in a Computer Engineering Science A.S degree program at my local community college. I have been to many of forums for many different "Hobbies" and this "Scene" has been the most fun and intense in terms of material. If i have a question their is always multiple people with responses. I am kind of gushing right now, its all so new to me. Im just waiting for my PSU to arrive and ill be able to go through "First Boot". :ninja: with Touch BIOS i should be able to OC the processor in no time
     
  13. nenforcer

    nenforcer Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, its like going from a dual core to a quad core in BF3 Multiplayer. It's a requirement.