Future of Android ROMs

the DRIZZLE

Platinum Member
Sep 6, 2007
I've had an OG Droid since launch day, and I've been running Cyanogen on it for the last six months or so, and lots of leaked Motorola builds before that. But looking at a lot of the newer phones, it there don't seem to be a lot of third party ROMs available. The Droid 2 and Droid X have Fission, but they can only do much with a locked bootloader. I've heard there are some ROMs for the Galaxy S phones on XDA, but it looks like Cyanogen development for Galaxy S has been abandoned.

Anyone want to speculate on the future of third party ROMs for Android? It's really nice knowing that you always have a backup if the manufacturer is slow to push out updates or stops supporting your phone at all. I hope I'm wrong but it seems like the with manufacturers locking phones down more and more, combined with the relatively short life cycles of the phones is killing third party ROMs. Thoughts?

PhoKingGuy

Diamond Member
Nov 15, 2007
The G2 was rooted like last week and theres already like 3 ROMs for it, buy a phone from a good manufacturer and there will be plenty of them.

the DRIZZLE

Platinum Member
Sep 6, 2007
The G2 was rooted like last week and theres already like 3 ROMs for it, buy a phone from a good manufacturer and there will be plenty of them.

Fair point, but even that took longer than expected because people were losing root on reboot. The G2 is also a "developer phone" so its supposed to be easy and they still made the community jump through a bunch of extra hoops.

Bateluer

Lifer
Jun 23, 2001
Fair point, but even that took longer than expected because people were losing root on reboot. The G2 is also a "developer phone" so its supposed to be easy and they still made the community jump through a bunch of extra hoops.