FSB and Multiplier Questions for my new rig

momento

Jun 4, 2003
I am new at this overclocking stuff (trying to learn here), putting together my first computer now, however, there are some things that i don't quite get it, from what i have read:

FSB (front side bus) X Multiplier = cpu clock frequency

My questions are:

1.) why some people use higher value of FSB (and lower Multiplier) while some use higher value of Multiplier (and lower value of FSB)? Any factors to consider when tweaking these two parameters?

2.) If i have an AMD 2500 (retail HSF),2X256mb crucial pc 2700 DDR, and a motherboard (epox 8rda+) that support up to 333MHZ FSB, will it be correct to set the parameters as 11X166 ( as the ram is running at 166MHZ) ? So, how do i use the 333MHZ FSB capability of the mobo?

3.) What far can i overclock the above system without buying better HSF ?

4.) what do you mean by "burn in"??

Thanks for your time.

Daysleeper

May 14, 2003
1. If you got good memorysticks you can get to higher fsb:s and then you got more speed (10 x 200 is quicker than 12 x 166). Sometimes when the memorysticks are not good to get to high fsb (even 140fsb is too much for some memories jep it's possible i had spectekddr 266 and it went 139fsb with 4-2-2-2....i sold it...:D..) you can raise the multiplier so you can reach higher clockspeeds. i use my 2100+ 1733@2090 11x190 with default voltages

2. jep 166fsb if crusial can take it.....and it should because it's pc-2700...:D