Free cloning software for SSD?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by perdomot, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. perdomot

    perdomot Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just ordered a Crucial 64GB SSD and want to clone from my current OCZ Agility and keep the aligned partition. Is anyone offering free software that does this?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Free cloning software Forum Date
    Does anyone know of a DVD ripper that is free that can rip individual titles from DVD? Memory and Storage Dec 27, 2016
    2TB external USB HD unreadable -- "RAW" --- Fixed (for FREE!)!!! Memory and Storage Nov 29, 2016
    Contest for free stuff in General Hardware. Memory and Storage Dec 4, 2015
    Free tool for HDD upgrade? Memory and Storage Mar 26, 2015
    Easiest (free) way to clone HD? (plus HD question) Memory and Storage Sep 15, 2010

  3. Gillbot

    Gillbot Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    28,785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Many of the larger tier manufacturers offer cloning suites such as Seagate's DiscWizard but they will only work using their drives. Perhaps look through Crucial and OCZs pages to see if they have an offering? Otherwise maybe try one of the other utilities like Parted Magic?
     
  4. RhoXS

    RhoXS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try EASEUS Disk Copy. Its a free download and is in the form of an iso. Burn the iso to a CD and boot from the CD. Makes perfect plug and play clones and is intuitive and easy to use.
     
  5. Binky

    Binky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can always repair the alignment later if it gets screwed up.
     
  6. razel

    razel Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    8
    Looks like you have a WD and they offer Acronis for free. If you keep your WD HDD plugged in, especially in a SATA port. IIRC, last that I used it, you can use Acronis on your Crucial.
     
  7. perdomot

    perdomot Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info. Downloaded Easeus and will try it.
     
  8. semo

    semo Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a bunch of tools on UBCD that can do this. You can also try clonezilla but not the easiest to use
     
    #7 semo, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  9. Diogenes2

    Diogenes2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just use the Win7 image backup utility ..
     
  10. RhoXS

    RhoXS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like EASEUS because it boots from a CD and requires nothing to be installed that will use up precious SSD space and load services that use up resources. It is simple, straight forward, and works like a charm. I tested it by cloning my 80 GB G2 SSD to a HDD. The HDD booted without issue when I plugged it in, albeit a lot more slowly. EASEUS reminds me of a refined Ghost 2003. I used Ghost 2003 for years and loved it because of its simplicity and reliability.

    EASEUS is slow but that is a small price to pay for a free application that works so well.

    One impoprtant bit of advice. Make sure the backup drive, the drive you are writing to, is a clearly different size than the drive you are backing up. This will make it much easier to clearly identify the souce drive and destination drive and reduce the chance of inadvertently selecting the wrong drive to back up and writing over your SSD, obviously a tragic error.
     
  11. RaiderJ

    RaiderJ Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,582
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've personally always had great luck with Clonezilla. Not one non-user error the whole time I've used it.
     
    cbn likes this.
  12. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    acronis that comes with an intel drive works with any intel system.

    intel anything iirc. intel cpu and no intel drive = cool
    amd cpu and no intel drive = no dice

    also acronis easy clone is 30 day trial - which is what you want. just uninstall the registry entry and the trial and keep re-using.
     
  13. hans007

    hans007 Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2000
    Messages:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    5
    i tried EASEUS and it works, but eht problem is it does a sector by sector copy.

    if your new SSD is a different size than the new one it will put the formatting data of your old SSD on the new one.

    so for example i had a samsung 64gb ssd which is 59.6 gb free space.

    i copied it to a sanforce 60GB which is like 55.9 gb free space.

    so it had this weird situation where in windows it said the sandforce was 59.6gb so it had wrong formatting information.l


    acronis readjusts that correctly , so i'd suggest trying a different app thatn EASEUS
     
  14. realneil

    realneil Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will EASEUS work properly cloning my 256GB SSD over to a 480GB SSD?
     
  15. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,425
    Likes Received:
    67
    Don't know if EASEUS does proportional cloning - Acronis does. That's why I always use it from a bootable media, CD or Thumb Drive.
     
  16. npaladin-2000

    npaladin-2000 Senior member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    3
    I prefer PartEd Magic myself. Easier to use than CloneZilla, basically you can copy-paste the partitions from the old drive to the new drive (connect one via USB) and resize them however you want. Just remember to set the boot partition as active.

    Useful tool to have in general, good for rescuing files from systems that won't boot too. I always keep a copy handy.
     
  17. realneil

    realneil Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ended up using Acronis for the clone.
     
  18. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,385
    Likes Received:
    214
    I looked through all the posts, and all of these luminaries skipped mention of Macrium Reflect.

    It won't do proportional resizing during a clone -- you have to image the resulting drive and then restore it, in the process selecting the size of the result.

    But it will clone dual-boot OS setup on a single disk, and give a perfect, error-free, functioning result
     
  19. otinane

    otinane Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    13
    If you were using linux a simple command on your bash will do the job

    Code:
    dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb bs=32M
     
  20. deustroop

    deustroop Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    69
    Cloning with Macrium, from a smaller to a larger drive, involves a simple manual operation.The default clone is to copy all source partitions and sizes. Macrium provides a proposed layout for the target drive. Thus when the target is larger, the schema will show the NTFS partition with unallocated space . One just expands the divider to include all the available space and then clone away.
    Macrium by default will copy only the sectors with data.When the target drive is smaller, there is no unallocated space and the data itself is copied. I haven't looked into what happens when the data is larger than the available NTFS partition.
     
  21. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,385
    Likes Received:
    214
    I'll take another look at Macrium for what you describe. In my case, I had dual-boot with sys-reserved, EFI, Win7Boot and Win10boot partitions. And I think I tried to do what you described, and ran into problems. Of course, it might be easier or less uncertain to work with a single-OS system. I know that Acronis -- for chipsets and drives known to work with whichever version of Disk Director or True Image -- allowed proportional resizing that was fairly robust in the way the user could control it.

    Oddly, when I was doing advance research for how Macrium could do it on the web, I ran into forum posts that indicated it would only copy the partitions in the size of the sources, and someone explained the resizing that could be done after imaging the drive with Macrium.

    Has anyone tried Mini Tool ? Indications I found -- forums, testaments, etc. -- suggest a fairly robust utility as good as the best. I'd be interested if someone has firsthand experience. Otherwise, it's not a major outlay of an entrance fee to try it. Maybe there's even a trial version, and I'll look at that link more closely.
     
  22. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,034
    Likes Received:
    271
    Erm, no, not a perfect, error-free clone.
    https://forums.anandtech.com/thread...ng-in-macrium-v7.2499898/page-2#post-38771594

    So, that left a big sour taste in my mouth.
     
  23. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,385
    Likes Received:
    214
    I never had an experience like that with any of the products.

    this time around, I think I tried cloning the dual-boot system-disk with EaseUS, and it wouldn't boot into Win 10. I started poking around to see what was new for disk utilities -- I had used many, but I'd depended on Acronis DD and TI in recent years. Customer-support techs at EasUS and Acronis backed away from any guarantee that their software could do what I wanted. I finally stumbled upon Macrium's ability to do it in some recent forum post "somewhere," and checked their compendious instruction/guide.

    I wasn't even sure it would work just before I initiated the clone, but at least it was the Free version.

    I just finished using it again on my laptop -- also a dual-boot configuration. I had been hesitant about cloning through a USB2-connected docking station, although that's what I did after acquiring the laptop two years ago ( -- and it's an oldie -- a T8300 Centrino C2D). But no problems again.

    At this point, I must say how amazed at how stupid I was, thinking that an SSD would "save power" over a 2.5" laptop spinner. Read the fine print! [ . . . Dummy -- that's what I call myself]. SSDs draw 1.7A, and a 2.5" HDD spinner draws 0.85A.
     
  24. dlerious

    dlerious Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have Mini-Tool Partition Wizard. I've used it to align SSD partitions. I haven't tried cloning with it yet.
     
  25. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,385
    Likes Received:
    214
    All such intelligence forthcoming has cumulative value to those of us with a software budget.
     
  26. dlerious

    dlerious Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Let me see what I can figure out. I'll have to find a spare drive and do a few other things.