fraps questions

Bman123

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2008
I had no clue where to put this so I will start here, if its the wrong section please feel free to move it someone. First off what this is about. I want to upload gameplay videos on YouTube for someone to see how well my sig rig plays games, now to the questions.

When I am recording a video how can I make my fps stay in the corner of the video so everyone can see?
What is the best way to record if my Res is 1280x720?
My 30 second clip at 12x7 was 500mb how can I shrink it to 100mb to play on YouTube?

I've never done this before so any help would be appreciated, thanks

Childs

Lifer
Jul 9, 2000
I had no clue where to put this so I will start here, if its the wrong section please feel free to move it someone. First off what this is about. I want to upload gameplay videos on YouTube for someone to see how well my sig rig plays games, now to the questions.

When I am recording a video how can I make my fps stay in the corner of the video so everyone can see?

If the game supports it, you can set it via command. BF3 for example, its "render.showfps 1". Otherwise, you would need something to display the frame rate. MSI Afterburner is free (which also records btw), and it can display the frame rate and you can use Fraps to record it. Just be aware that Fraps will cap your framerate to what your recording frame rate is, so its not reliable. Also, recording at a high frame rate will actually lower your in game frame rate. I have done videos like this, and I use the in game frame rate counter and use Dxtory. That way the recording will not effect the results.

What is the best way to record if my Res is 1280x720?