Force enable PCI-E 3.0 on SB-E/X79 with GTX 6xx

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by AdamK47, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    12,116
    Likes Received:
    71
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Force enable Forum Date
    iGPU + dGPU, anyway go force dgpu to render all 3D/games? Video Cards and Graphics Nov 30, 2016
    How to force high performance on HD 4600 iGPU Video Cards and Graphics Oct 22, 2014
    force skyrim assets into computer memory instead of video card memory Video Cards and Graphics Oct 10, 2014
    does nvidia patch force gen 3.0 work on 700 series? and will it on 800? Video Cards and Graphics Oct 26, 2013
    Force Vista to have monitors enabled? Video Cards and Graphics Apr 27, 2009

  3. TheUnk

    TheUnk Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using it and it worked fine. I tested Batman AC and DiRT3 before and after and performance was slightly better. I think it was like 7-8 more min fps in batman. I'm running 3x670s.
     
  4. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,147
    Likes Received:
    245
    I use this and it works fine. I've read it's hit and miss as some people get crashes. Haven't seen anything definitive on whether it is motherboard or GPU related when issues do arise.
     
  5. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    12,116
    Likes Received:
    71
    They stated "We have tested GeForce GTX 680 and GTX 670 GPUs across a number of X79/SNB-E platforms at 8GT/s bus speeds, but have seen significant variation in signal timing across different motherboards and CPUs."

    Sounds like it's motherboard related. Could be traces that are too long or interference.
     
  6. dac7nco

    dac7nco Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works for me, but there's little to no difference; If I was running dual/tri-SLI I'd expect more.
     
  7. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,740
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wonder if there is a 5GT/s PCI-E 3.0 mode? e.g. PCI-E 3.0 protocol but @ 5GT/s speed (like PCI-E 2.0 supported both 2.5GT/s and 5.0GT/s modes)
     
  8. moonbogg

    moonbogg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8,834
    Likes Received:
    291
    I thought about trying this but decided its not worth the trouble. I mean, its just not. The games I play are CPU limited like a real light show.
     
  9. lamedude

    lamedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that what PCIe 2.1 is.