For those who play UT2004/Q3/America's Army AND

Shyatic

Platinum Member
Apr 5, 2004
Is it just me.... or is CS a totally wacky game compared to the others I mentioned? I rule at AA/Q3/UT2004 and other FPSes... but CS is awfully hard to get used to.

Any people that play both frequently (I'm a newbie to CS) have any tips between the games, and how I can alter my playstyle to do better? I'm always in the top 3-5 in CS... but I'm used to being #1 :)

IEC

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
Yeah, I can totally attest to what you're talking about. I used to RULE in UT2k3 on most servers, and then playing CS felt like having my wings clipped... but now I definitely like CS better. The guns take some getting used to, not 100% accurate like UT2k3, but if you stick with the automatic rifles you'll do well. KP Submachinegun isn't bad either. My favorite has to be the Carbine for the CTs tho. :)

Oh, BTW, strafing isn't too useful in CS :p

FleshLight

Diamond Member
Mar 18, 2004
I think there are a lot more tactics in CS. You can shoot through boxes so you'll have to be able to predict where the player will be in x seconds. Prefire > you.

spunkz

Golden Member
Jul 16, 2003
just gotta get used to the recoil. also learn to tap the opposite direction to stop instead of just letting go, so your shots become more accurate. in cs basically the gayer your tactics are, the better you are, so feel free to camp, bait, hide, awp, etc.

also dont be afraid to rush. grow some balls and go first in line.

MBony

Platinum Member
Sep 16, 2003
I've gotta get in on the CS:S action, how long has it been out?

Juice Box

Diamond Member
Nov 7, 2003
ok, all i have to say is, I dont understand the hype over source. Its Counter Strike, plain and simple. You can add all the bells and whistles you want, but it will always be counter strike, and to me, an inferior game to others like UT and AA

spunkz

Golden Member
Jul 16, 2003
Originally posted by: FleshLight