Folding@Home bigadv EOL 3rd Anniversary Challenge: [H] vs TAAT

Page 7 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
That's what I'm thinking. Is it too late to sign up 2x GTX 1660 ti and 2x GTX 1660 super cards? They're in a pair of identical Z170 mobos, with G4560 CPUs (Kaby Lake dual-core w/HT). I think that they both have 2x8GB DDR4, but one of them, I think that I saw a RAM stick hanging down, so maybe they need some TLC. But they're still running, currently, mining, and I could switch them over to Folding in a few clicks.

LMK if it's too late to sign up.
@biodoc , I think it has not started, so all are welcome. Forgive me if I am wrong.
 

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
4,712
5,896
136
Folks can still sign up for the Anandtech Racers until today, 1200UTC = 0700EDT = 0600CST = 0400PST.

(Due to the database outage at foldingathome.org, I suspect that it is currently not possible to create a new account or to obtain a passkey for the account. It will be sufficient to get the passkey later when the database is back up. But if you don't have an account yet and can't create one, then I guess you could tell @biodoc which username you plan to use for the foldingathome account, create the account later when the database works again, and give @biodoc notice when account creation was successful.)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: biodoc

biodoc

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2005
6,076
1,930
136
We will start the race when the F@H/EOC stats are back up. Since we passed the original start date and time, no more Team Anandtech members can sign up for the race.
 

Fardringle

Diamond Member
Oct 23, 2000
9,117
692
126
You have to add their chrome web extension to your host/computer for each computer's data you want added to their database.
I did that for all of my computers, thanks!

What does it mean when a task says "UNICORN" to the right of the task/PPD info?

1642949368562.png

I'm guessing that means it's a higher than average PPD. Which probably just means the best one for my computer so far since the database doesn't have any results for these GPUs yet...
 

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
4,712
5,896
136
EOC got stuck at (and is still showing) 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,969,503,508 for MarkFW.

stats.foldingathome.org now shows 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,992,890,477 for MarkFW on the team list and 29,995,714,870 on the user page.

api2.foldingathome.org is now responding too and is showing 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,995,714,870 for MarkFW.

So maybe it is now beginning to update itself...?

Edit:
No, both the stats site and the api2 site claim that the last WUs from active users are from Friday.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
EOC got stuck at (and is still showing) 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,969,503,508 for MarkFW.

stats.foldingathome.org now shows 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,992,890,477 for MarkFW on the team list and 29,995,714,870 on the user page.

api2.foldingathome.org is now responding too and is showing 155,009,212,002 for the team and 29,995,714,870 for MarkFW.

So maybe it is now beginning to update itself...?

Edit:
No, MarkFW's data is still stale. Both the stats page and the api2 page claim that his last WU was from Friday (precisely: 2022-01-21 17:46:24 UTC), which is probably wrong.
I am doing (and have been doing) 40-50 million ppd for 5 days now. I will easily go over 30 billion once they start working.

And I posted a pic of a 3080TI 9.7m PPD on lowered wattage on the hardforum.
 
Last edited:

pututu

Member
Jul 1, 2017
110
189
116
@Markfw , should be straightfoward to install the newer web client from folding.lar. It assumes you already have Stanford FAH client already installed.

1. Install google chrome.
2. Download the web client extension here and click "Add to Chrome"
1642960354000.png
3. Open a new chrome tab and type this link https://client.foldingathome.org/
 

agentnathan009

Junior Member
May 22, 2010
5
5
81
So small change of subject from stats :)

it looks like I can step up my 3070ti to a 3080 12 gb, a 3080ti, or a 3090.

Does anyone know what the ppd difference between a 3080ti and a 3090 is?
The PPD difference between 3090 and 3080 Ti will be minimal, they have nearly the same amount of processing power. If I had to choose, I would get the 3080 Ti, it gives you near 3090 performance for several hundred dollars less if you can an EVGA model. I stepped up to a 3080 Ti and I plan to keep it. I have multiple cards I am mining on: 1070 Ti, 3060 v1, 3060 Ti LHR, 3060 Ti FHR, 3070 LHR and a 3080 Ti. For F@H, I recommend the 3080 Ti. 3080 is a slight bump up from 3080 in processing power, but much more memory bandwidth, but F@H isn't as memory bandwidth sensitive.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
@Markfw , should be straightfoward to install the newer web client from folding.lar. It assumes you already have Stanford FAH client already installed.

1. Install google chrome.
2. Download the web client extension here and click "Add to Chrome"
View attachment 56405
3. Open a new chrome tab and type this link https://client.foldingathome.org/
On 18 boxes.......

I saw somebody ask about tracking all boxes. Well, FAHControl does it ! Why don't more people use that ? And it totals it up.
1642963912911.png
 
Last edited:

firedfly

Junior Member
Jan 22, 2022
3
6
36
The PPD difference between 3090 and 3080 Ti will be minimal, they have nearly the same amount of processing power. If I had to choose, I would get the 3080 Ti, it gives you near 3090 performance for several hundred dollars less if you can an EVGA model. I stepped up to a 3080 Ti and I plan to keep it. I have multiple cards I am mining on: 1070 Ti, 3060 v1, 3060 Ti LHR, 3060 Ti FHR, 3070 LHR and a 3080 Ti. For F@H, I recommend the 3080 Ti. 3080 is a slight bump up from 3080 in processing power, but much more memory bandwidth, but F@H isn't as memory bandwidth sensitive.
I have a two 3080ti's as well as one of the new 3080 12gb cards (all EVGA ftw3 ultra). They are roughly the same from my brief time folding on the 3080. Currently, they are all getting low 9 million ppd in Linux on p18201. This will vary from high 8s to 11 mil depending on the unit.

I'm not noticing any difference with the 3080 vs when I previously had 3x3080ti in this system. 3080 is sightly slower, but it is also stuck at pcie 4.0 x4. When I had a 3080ti in the same spot, it was also a bit slower than the other 3080tis running at x8 and x16.

TLDR: I'm happy with the 3080 12gb. I'd go with that to save a few hundred dollars.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
@Markfw , should be straightfoward to install the newer web client from folding.lar. It assumes you already have Stanford FAH client already installed.

1. Install google chrome.
2. Download the web client extension here and click "Add to Chrome"
View attachment 56405
3. Open a new chrome tab and type this link https://client.foldingathome.org/
And how do they get the nice little boxes, instead of a whole screen ? In windows I use paint, but in linux ???
 

Skillz

Senior member
Feb 14, 2014
610
542
136
And how do they get the nice little boxes, instead of a whole screen ? In windows I use paint, but in linux ???
If you hold down ALT and hit the Print Screen button it will only take a screenshot of the ACTIVE window. Then when you paste it into Paint, Photoshop, GIMP (linux), [insert image editor here] and you wont have to edit anything.

edit
That works in both Linux and Windows.
 

biodoc

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2005
6,076
1,930
136
In Linux Mint, there is an app under accessories called screenshot which allows a grab of the whole screen, current window or select an area to grab.

1642966274035.png
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
In Linux Mint, there is an app under accessories called screenshot which allows a grab of the whole screen, current window or select an area to grab.

View attachment 56412
Thanks, I now have 2 posts at hardforum ! My 3080TI and my 3070TI ppd.
 

motqalden

Member
Jun 13, 2009
49
54
91
even without having to open any app in linux you can just do: SHIFT + PrintScreen
that lets you draw a snip and copy to clipboard
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
23,396
12,366
136
even without having to open any app in linux you can just do: SHIFT + PrintScreen
that lets you draw a snip and copy to clipboard
Yes, but I only want a small part of the screen. The app does that very easily.
 

motqalden

Member
Jun 13, 2009
49
54
91
Yes, but I only want a small part of the screen. The app does that very easily.
Maybe so but is it easier then pressing Shift + printscreen and dragging your cursor to capture the portion you want? did you try it?
Edit: its litterally the same app, just that pressing Shift + printscreen does all the work of opening it and selection the option to capture a portion of the screen. Saves you a few clicks or having to search for / open the app
 

agentnathan009

Junior Member
May 22, 2010
5
5
81
I have a two 3080ti's as well as one of the new 3080 12gb cards (all EVGA ftw3 ultra). They are roughly the same from my brief time folding on the 3080. Currently, they are all getting low 9 million ppd in Linux on p18201. This will vary from high 8s to 11 mil depending on the unit.

I'm not noticing any difference with the 3080 vs when I previously had 3x3080ti in this system. 3080 is sightly slower, but it is also stuck at pcie 4.0 x4. When I had a 3080ti in the same spot, it was also a bit slower than the other 3080tis running at x8 and x16.

TLDR: I'm happy with the 3080 12gb. I'd go with that to save a few hundred dollars.
The price for the 3080 12GB is high compared to launch MSRP. I picked the 3080 Ti because I have one and I though it was a worthwhile value with inflated prices and it can pwn games. Don't get me wrong, the 3080 12GB can maul games as well, and can keep up with the Ti, but needs higher clocks to do so. The 3090 is much higher in price due to less defects to enable higher core count and a lot more memory, which I don't see more than 12GB being an issue in the near future. If OC'ing the 3080 Ti, it should outrun the 3080, though probably not by a significant margin as those high end cards are already being pushed. I looked at gaming and Folding and shared my opinion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: firedfly

ASK THE COMMUNITY