First Rig built. Feedback plz

ArmyVet88

Feb 13, 2013
Hey everyone, just wanted to give a little bit of background. I am a 2x Vet of Afghanistan, Paratrooper who got out in 2010. I went back into construction where i realized i do not like what i am doing. For some unknown reason i started teaching myself about computers and the hardware. I am soon to be starting school to get my A.S in Computer Engineering Science. My new found love for everything PC has allowed me to build my first gaming rig. Just looking for some feedback, thanks for your time.

Case: Apevia X-Trooper LED Light Mid-Tower Case
CPU: AMD FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No OC yet stock fan)
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
Memory: 8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3/1600MHz
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
Fans: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator/Fan Dual Standard 120MM Fans Push-Pull
MONITOR: 24" Widescreen 1920x1080 Sceptre E246W-1080P

Please do not troll to hard hahah :biggrin:

Torn Mind

Lifer
Nov 25, 2012
That build would do for a lighter, not too demanding gaming setup. It needs a more CPU and graphics power if you want to run games at higher settings.

Last edited:

dmoney1980

Platinum Member
Jan 17, 2008
Army vet,

Welcome and thank you for your service. Have you purchased these parts already or are you shopping around? If shopping, what's your budget?

mfenn

Elite Member
Jan 17, 2010
www.mfenn.com
The OP was pretty much past tense, so I assume he's already built it. Without knowing the price paid for each component, I can't really comment on how cost-effective the build is. I'm pretty sure that the money spent on a the liquid cooler would have been better spent getting a faster CPU in the first place though.

ArmyVet88

Feb 13, 2013