first post, my build

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by poison.apple, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. poison.apple

    poison.apple Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, this is my first post this site has been very helpful with my build which has been up and running for a couple of weeks now. See below and let me know what you think. I could use some suggestions on the software to be able to have more sources of streaming media.

    Hardware:
    ASRock H77PRO-4 M
    i3-3220T 2.80ghz
    intel 330 series sata III 120gig SSD
    kingston HyperX blu 8GB DDR3-1600MHz
    asus DRW-24B1ST 24x DVD-RW Drive
    corsair cx430 PSU
    aerocool gaming case
    logitech k400 wireless keyboard

    Software:
    windows 8 pro with windows media centre
    XBMC 12 Frodo
    Netflix app
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - post build Forum Date
    2U Server Case Build - Now with GTX 1050 ti! Home Theater PCs Jan 19, 2017
    NAS or build a desktop for media server Home Theater PCs Sep 19, 2016
    Dell Inspiron 3650 Desktop or build a PC as a HTPC (running OpenELEC) Home Theater PCs Sep 8, 2016
    Low-power HTPC build Home Theater PCs Jun 21, 2016
    HTPC question filters/post processing Home Theater PCs Sep 6, 2015

  3. LoveMachine

    LoveMachine Senior member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you use a remote control (e.g. Harmony), this site has some good plugins for WMC that allow you to get into XBMC/HuluPlus-Desktop without using a mouse. Good for couch surfin'. Be sure to use the download link in the middle of the page, not the big button on top (spam). I'm still on Win7, so no idea on any apps for streaming beyond Netflix. Many still require direct access to the website through a browser.

    Oh, and not to poop too much on your build (which overall looks great), but the T series processors are generally not needed. The new i3s don't generate too much heat and even a lowly 150W PS will run the full clock versions. For your next build...
     
    #2 LoveMachine, Jan 31, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2013
  4. el aye

    el aye Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you super particular about getting the 3220T (I presume because it is 35w vs 55w)? I plan on going with the 3225 for the HD4000 graphics because it supports 3D bluray.
     
  5. assassin24

    assassin24 HTPC Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    All the i3 CPUs support 3D bluray.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/65694/Intel-Core-i3-3220T-Processor-3M-Cache-2_80-GHz

    The low wattage "T" is going to run about the same as the "non-T" version in real life scenarios. I would use the regular "non-T" version unless you needed the low profile cooler that comes with the "T" version which is actually quite good for a stock cooler.
     
  6. coolkish

    coolkish Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    In case you want bluray playback- recommend BDROM/DVD-RW instead.

    Since you are using m-atx Mobo, maybe you can opt for a smaller case as well?
     
  7. el aye

    el aye Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I certainly am corrected, thank you for that. I could've sworn when I was looking on intel's site over the past month that the i3-3225 was the only i3 to support 3D.
     
  8. poison.apple

    poison.apple Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used this case because I thought it had a unique look to it, its not quite that big.
    [​IMG]



    I originally did not want to put an optical drive but I got the asus at an amazing deal of 10$ and it turns out it was quite helpful with the OS installation when my usb stick wasn't co-operating. while a Blu-ray player would be nice, I just wouldn't use it enough.
     
  9. poison.apple

    poison.apple Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My k400r keyboard is actually quite nice and does the job well. My question is that is there even a fully compatible remote out there made for windows 8 that can control the metro menu, apps and xbmc? The remotes I've seen so far are only for Windows 7.
     
  10. LoveMachine

    LoveMachine Senior member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    2
    No idear. But that really would be nice, and seems like a natural extension of metro. I'd think it would be an easy port write some code to make a Win7 remote functional in metro.
     
  11. el aye

    el aye Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently discovered that my harmony remote (acting as a media center remote) allows me to use the D-pad to move around the metro menu and select programs with the OK button. It has a "Start" button that normally starts media center, I suppose you could probably modify this in windows somehow.
     
  12. poison.apple

    poison.apple Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My picture is grainy on my Samsung hdtv, would getting a video card help with this or is it the TV? Can someone please suggest some good compatible video cards preferably under $130ish?
     
  13. Murloc

    Murloc Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    37
    make sure to set the same resolution as the max resolution allowed by the TV, maybe it's down/up-scaling stuff and that's why it sucks. If it's not this I don't know what it could be. I remember that using a wii on a full hd tv just makes you want to tear your eyes out.
     
  14. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,892
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had some resolution issues with my G620-powered HTPC... it all boiled down to settings... and conflicting settings with the TV vs the computer. Your i3 is plenty powerful, as is the IGPU...

    What type of playback are you having problems with... streaming, DVD playback...?
     
  15. poison.apple

    poison.apple Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My main concern is that Windows 8 OS looks a bit pixelated and grainy, a lot of my digital movies show those fuzzy waves but it could be just the file quality but I'm not sure. I'm using the recommended resolution with no stretching from the TV. I just want it to look clear and crisp just like it was hooked into a normal pc monitor.