First HTPC Build

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by raid123, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. raid123

    raid123 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, this is my first time building an HTPC and I wanted your opinions on the parts I've chosen. I'm not totally sure if I'm going in the right direction for what I want.

    I would be using this for media playback(Blueray and DVD) and storage, probably playing some light gaming, and then the usual Netflix, Hulu, Pandora. In the end I want this to replace my cable tv. I will also want to hook up a surround sound system or sound bar to get more of that movie experience. Any suggestions/changes are welcomed. My budget is about $500-600 if that helps.


    CPU: Intel Core i3-3220 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor
    Motherboard: ASRock H77 Pro4-M Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
    Memory: G.Skill 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
    Storage: Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive
    Storage: Intel 330 Series 60GB 2.5" Solid State Disk
    Case: Silverstone SST-GD05B-USB3.0 (Black) HTPC Case
    Power Supply: SeaSonic S12II 380W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V
    Optical Drive: Lite-On IHBS112-04 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
     
  2. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, those parts look right on. One thing you are forgetting is an OS... unless you are using freeware. Add $100 (give or take) for W7 or W8. ...and a remote, if you wanted one.

    If you are planning on encoding video to your HDD, the i3 is a good idea. I also like the GD05B case, I almost went with that.
     
  3. TastesLikeChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,356
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you plan on doing some light gaming you might want to spend a few bucks more to get the i3-3225. The HD4000, vs. the HD2500 GPU of the i3-3220, will be quite a bit better for gaming.
     
  4. raid123

    raid123 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I was actually looking at the I3-3225 but wasn't sure if it was worth it, but I might take a second look and get that instead. Also I've been hearing different views on weather Windows 8 is a good enough OS for an HTPC. I'd rather go with Windows 8 unless W7 is that much better.

    Any suggestions on a remote?
     
    #4 raid123, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  5. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you plan on W8 and want WMC you'll have to purchase WMC. I can't remember how much it's going for, I know for awhile you could get the license for free but that was only till the end of Jan.

    I'm not using W8 on my htpc but it might be a good choice if your family will be using the htpc as well (ie when you're out of town or something). You can just put WMC or XBMC/whatever on the start page and they can just click it once the OS loads, so no navigation or anything. Aside from the start menu, it's pretty much the same as W7. I have W8 on my main rig and a laptop and W7 on everything else.

    EDIT: Build looks good though. I got the same case and I love it.
     
  6. lucklessgorath

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe that you can get WMC for Windows 8 Core. You need to have Windows 8 Pro just to have the privilege to purchase WMC as an add-on. I see no reason that you would need any of the features of pro for an HTPC. I'd stick with Windows 7 Home for WMC. I'm sure the Netflix app is nice on Windows 8, but you can still use Netflix on Windows 7.
     
  7. weez82

    weez82 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you consider "light" gaming? Intel HD4000 might not be enough. What games?
     
  8. thestrangebrew1

    thestrangebrew1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didn't know you had to have Pro. If this is the case, then yeah OP should prob just stick to W7 or linux.
     
  9. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just as a point of reference, I was playing COD4 and MW2 on my 2500K's 3000HD graphics for a while, until I had the scratch to get my current GPU... it was playable if not spectacularly so. Anything less demanding should be OK at medium settings on 4000HD.