Firefox 13 Comes with a “Reset” Button for Factory Defaults

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by hclarkjr, May 17, 2012.

  1. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    11,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mozilla has been working on this for a while, the support team has wanted it for a long time, but Firefox now comes with a "reset" button. The buttons is akin to "reset to factory defaults" in that it resets all settings to their defaults, but it does not delete any user data. This last part is very important and it is the difference between a fresh, clean install and a reset.

    The "reset" button works in a simple way, it saves your bookmarks, passwords, cookies and form data, but deletes everything else and then creates a fresh new profile and populates it with the saved data.

    Extensions and everything else are wiped clean though and what you get is a Firefox that's as fresh as when you first install it, but is still yours, since it has all the data you need.

    The feature has made it to the beta channel, Firefox 13, and it's available in Aurora and Nightly of course, though there may be some issues with the latter.

    "The support team worked with product and engineering to create the Reset Firefox feature. The first implementation of this is a button on the Troubleshooting Information page (about:support). What is does is create a new profile and migrate your bookmarks, passwords, cookies and form data. Everything else gets set to the defaults," Michael Verdi, from Mozilla's support team wrote.

    "I have to say, this thing is like magic. You basically get a brand new Firefox installation without the penalty of losing all your data. This is especially useful as a quick fix for the thousands of posts we see on social media where people often express vague complaints about Firefox. 'Firefox is slow.' 'Firefox crashes too much.' 'Firefox sucks'," he added.

    The next step is to make the feature easier to discover, currently you can only find it in the about:support page which means you already know of it or Mozilla has directed you to the page. The plan is to have the button available via the regular preferences dialog, or perhaps from the Help section.

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Fire...quot-Button-for-Factory-Defaults-270273.shtml
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Firefox “Reset” Button Forum Date
    Firefox resets itself every time it closes Software for Windows Jun 9, 2008
    firefox reset to default, after it was customized Software for Windows Dec 14, 2006
    Odd Firefox update/reset? Software for Windows Aug 29, 2006
    Firefox reset Software for Windows Aug 16, 2006
    Space no longer = page down in FireFox - how to reset? Software for Windows Mar 18, 2006

  3. gmaster456

    gmaster456 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was just about to post this. You beat me to it.
     
  4. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    11,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think it is good idea, should have done this awhile ago though
     
  5. gmaster456

    gmaster456 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. I'm curious as to why they have not implemented something like this sooner
     
  6. JTsyo

    JTsyo Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,243
    Likes Received:
    22
    When you currently uninstall the default is to leave your info alone. There's a check box you have to click to delete it. This seems like it removes the need for a reinstall. Though I'm not sure what it says about their quality. I haven't had trouble with FF at home, never needed to reinstall. I would think the biggest issue would be caused by plug-ins.
     
  7. SHahsmerdis

    SHahsmerdis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    This make sense. Funny how this is the only thing IE had before FF.