• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Finally got the 7970

Dice144

Senior member
Oct 22, 2010
654
1
81
Been using a water cooled 6950 but it was finally showing its age when playing at 2560 x1440. Brought a 7950 off newegg but it ran super hot. Returned it and got a 7970 Gigabyte windforce OC.

Games are now super smooth. Only bad thing I can say is voltage at first glance is locked on the model I got. However, gaming and bit mining hasn't went over 74 C yet.

Skyrim is now super smooth. Will try Metro later tonight.
 

thilanliyan

Lifer
Jun 21, 2005
11,260
1,095
126
Voltage is locked on the Windforce 7970s too? I heard the 7950s were locked, but I thought they would keep the higher cards unlocked...crappy. :(
 

Fx1

Golden Member
Aug 22, 2012
1,215
5
81
Voltage is locked on the Windforce 7970s too? I heard the 7950s were locked, but I thought they would keep the higher cards unlocked...crappy. :(
Yeh i sent mine back.

IT SUCKED. Wasnt even stable at 1030mhz and was voltage locked too.

I went for MSI 7970 reference card. 1125/1700 24/7

Hope that card is better than my bad egg
 

Skurge

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2009
5,195
0
71
Yeh i sent mine back.

IT SUCKED. Wasnt even stable at 1030mhz and was voltage locked too.

I went for MSI 7970 reference card. 1125/1700 24/7

Hope that card is better than my bad egg
The 7970 windforce is clocked at 1050mhz/1100mhz out of the box.
 

computerbuildin

Senior member
Nov 23, 2011
297
1
0
I think im one of the few here, I bought a XFX 7970 instead. I've had it for a week so far and the temps are pretty stable, and the card itself. It has crashed once, but thats because I was still playing with drivers and seeing which drivers I should have it on, because my card for some reason didnt agree with many of them. I haven't overclocked it yet though, might try that out later on until I know that the card I received is 100% stable before OC'ing.
 

UzairH

Senior member
Dec 12, 2004
315
0
0
I bought a 7970 as well couple weeks ago, to replace my GTX 470 in a rather aging i5-750 build. Was totally bummed out when I discovered that in one of the main games I bought for (GTA 4 + L3evo ENB mod) the 7970 ran slower than the 470. The 470 was getting 30 fps, and the 7970 was < 20 fps. Eventually gave up and returned the card, especially considering the GTX 700 series is rumored to be around the corner. I am waiting to get a new rig when Maxwell launches, and am happy otherwise now with the 470 (its not terrific but does the job in the other games I play, Metro 2033 and Witcher 2, plus Bad Company 2 and rFactor).

TLDR version: I would rather wait for Maxwell then upgrade now :)
 

Fx1

Golden Member
Aug 22, 2012
1,215
5
81
I bought a 7970 as well couple weeks ago, to replace my GTX 470 in a rather aging i5-750 build. Was totally bummed out when I discovered that in one of the main games I bought for (GTA 4 + L3evo ENB mod) the 7970 ran slower than the 470. The 470 was getting 30 fps, and the 7970 was < 20 fps. Eventually gave up and returned the card, especially considering the GTX 700 series is rumored to be around the corner. I am waiting to get a new rig when Maxwell launches, and am happy otherwise now with the 470 (its not terrific but does the job in the other games I play, Metro 2033 and Witcher 2, plus Bad Company 2 and rFactor).

TLDR version: I would rather wait for Maxwell then upgrade now :)
7970 slower than a 470 Lol.

Jog on.
 

thilanliyan

Lifer
Jun 21, 2005
11,260
1,095
126
I bought a 7970 as well couple weeks ago, to replace my GTX 470 in a rather aging i5-750 build. Was totally bummed out when I discovered that in one of the main games I bought for (GTA 4 + L3evo ENB mod) the 7970 ran slower than the 470. The 470 was getting 30 fps, and the 7970 was < 20 fps. Eventually gave up and returned the card, especially considering the GTX 700 series is rumored to be around the corner. I am waiting to get a new rig when Maxwell launches, and am happy otherwise now with the 470 (its not terrific but does the job in the other games I play, Metro 2033 and Witcher 2, plus Bad Company 2 and rFactor).

TLDR version: I would rather wait for Maxwell then upgrade now :)
That's really odd that a 470 was faster than a 7970. You should have asked for some help with your system on the forums and you might have been able to fix the problem.
 

crashtech

Diamond Member
Jan 4, 2013
9,754
1,591
126
I'm pretty happy with my Sapphire 7970. It's not voltage locked, and I can get 1150MHz out of it with no trouble at all, though it does start to run a bit hot at those speeds. lately I've been leaving it at around 1100 at the stock voltage, does everything I want it to do. It's hard to believe a 7970 could be slower than a 470 at anything, I think that must have been a problem unique to your setup?
 

UzairH

Senior member
Dec 12, 2004
315
0
0
I did try to find the answer to the slow performance, but in general all enb presets were superslow in GTA.
 

Rvenger

Elite Member <br> Super Moderator <br> Video Cards
Super Moderator
Apr 6, 2004
6,282
5
76
I did try to find the answer to the slow performance, but in general all enb presets were superslow in GTA.

CPU Bottleneck, adding more enhancements can stress the CPU even more.
 

Dice144

Senior member
Oct 22, 2010
654
1
81
Running st 1100 core for a few hours mining coins. Planned to buy another possibly for kicks for mning. Not sure will make $$ on mining but enjoy the hobby. GF hates the noise tho! haha
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY