File I/O JAVA JDK 1.3 question - Urgent

Mule

Golden Member
Aug 9, 2000
I have two Class Objects that implement serializable and I need to be able to read and write them to a single file. The Objects are tutordb and admindb. I want do do this using ObjectOutputStream, ObjectInputStream, FileInputStream, and FileOutputStream.

I have never done this before so could someone help me out here? Or link me to a place where I can look at some examples? This is what i have come up with, i don't know if it is right.

FileOutputStream ostream = new FileOutputStream("cstutor.cst");
ObjectOutputStream p = new ObjectOutputStream(ostream);

p.writeObject(Object obj);
p.writeObject(Object obj);

p.flush();
ostream.close();

When the arguments are Object obj do I have to provide an instance of that object or the object itself?

Actually admindb and tutordb are packages, so do I have to write every Object in that package to ObjectOutputStream or just the top level Object? Top level Objects would be UserDB for admindb and TutorialDB for tutordb.

Someone please show me how this works!

javathehut

Oct 23, 2000
go to http://java.sun.com/products/jdk/1.2/docs/api/java/io/ObjectOutputStream.html for the documentation for the ObjectOutputStream. I think that you need to create a File Object first before you do an ObjectOutputStream.
File file = new File("index.data");
try
{
FileOutputStream fileOut = new FileOutputStream(file);
ObjectOutputStream out = new ObjectOutputStream(fileOut);
out.writeObject(Object); // serialize object to file
out.close();
}
catch (Exception e)
{}

The trick is to make the object class implement java.io.Serializable. Then you have to override certain methods. You should have no problems then. Good luck!

Mule

Golden Member
Aug 9, 2000
I think I have gotten it down, except for

<< out.writeObject(Object); // serialize object to file >>

Would I just do : out.writeObject(UserDB); //to serialize object UserDB to file?