Few questions regarding setup and preparations for a new SSD

Ashkael

May 5, 2010
Hello all,

I recently ordered this Intel SSD. I've read a bit about SSDs and I'm excited to try them, but being a complete novice to storage setups I've got a couple questions that I was hoping someone could help me with. I currently own a Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB drive as well as a Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB.

My plan is to do a fresh install of Windows 7 64-bits on the Intel SSD and use it as a boot/OS drive, use the Velociraptor exclusively for my 150+ GBs worth of games, and the Caviar Black for music, movie and general storage. I know I am supposed to enable AHCI in the BIOS before installing Win7!

For reference, my motherboard is an Asus P6T Deluxe V2.

1. My i7 920 processor is currently overclocked to 3.8 Ghz. Should I reset all of my BIOS settings back to stock values before installing my SSD?

2. The TRIM command. Does my OS take care of this automatically or do I have to do something to make sure it's working?

3. More on TRIM. I saw in another thread in this forum that installing my motherboard's chipset drivers is a bad idea because it could disable TRIM support for my SSD. Problem: if I don't install the chipset drivers, I'll have a whole bunch of unrecognized devices and other errors in my device manager. What do I do?

4. The Page File and its size/location. I keep seeing LOTS of arguments about this one (some on this forum too). Some people claim that with enough RAM you can turn it off, others advocate leaving it untouched, yet others say to leave it on but to limit it's size/make it static or even move it out of the SSD. I currently run with 6GB of DDR3 RAM, and the performance monitor on my G19 tells me I barely fill 60% of it on really intensive games like Crysis or the Starcraft II beta. What should I do? Is it really that big of a deal to leave the page file on your SSD?