Feelings over leaving a job

dmw16

Diamond Member
Nov 12, 2000
Ok, I've been at my job for 2.5 years now. It is my first real job following graduation from college. However, the money could be a little bit better, we generally work 50-60 hours a week due to being understaffed and behind schedule, and there isn't much room to move up the ladder.

So I went for a job interview a few weeks ago and was made an offer. Without naming dollar figures, this new position is 16% more salary and a 4% signing bonus. Plus better hours and seemingly more room to advance.

Despite all that I am feeling guilty and a little scared at the thought of leaving my current job. I worry about the longer commute, the slightly higher cost of living, and just generally if it's the right move.

Is this a common thing? Ive never left a job before except when I graduated high school and went to college or when I graduated college. So I am just curious about other people's experiences leaving jobs...

misle

Diamond Member
Nov 30, 2000
I think this is common. I just accepted a new job (and turned in my two weeks notice last Friday) and I'm in a similar boat as you (been there 2 years, first real job after college, money's not great, no real room to move up).

I also feel kinda bad about leaving, but you have to do what's best for you. I mainly feel bad because I work with a lot of great people.

I sat down and made the old pro's and con's list, then compared salaries/benefits and job potential. It was a no brainer after that. But, I still feel a little guilty for leaving, even though I know it's the right choice.

OhSnap688

Golden Member
Sep 29, 2006
Of course it's a common thing, but I mean, you gotta do what ya gotta do.