• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

F@H GPU crunchers - what temps do you get?

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
I've got a X1950 Pro sitting idle most of the time so I figured I could put it to good use ;) following on from this thread

My main concern is how well does a graphics card stand upto being run at 100% load 24/7,what temps do you get? ,are they designed to be able to handle this like CPUs are?
Anyone run the GPU client from its start?

Also I'd like to know how much CPU power (%) it takes to run the GPU client?
A couple of results so far show anywhere inbetween 5-25% ,a few more results would be useful;)

Btw ,my rig specs.

Intel C2D E6420 @3.2GHz ,ATIX1950 Pro ,2GB DDR2 RAM
Case has front & rear fans + PSU fan.
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
I'm thinking about doing the same thing once I get my "gaming" rig built. I've got an Opty 165 I plan to OC to 2.7+Ghz, and an ATI X1950GT PCI-E 256MB that I will be pairing up with it. If I can GPU-fold with that rig, and run other CPU-based DC apps on it at the same time, I will.

I just haven't had the motivation recently to de-commission my other previously "main" rig. (Been having trouble with my new "main" rig, with the RAID5 array losing members for no reason.)
 

Alyx

Golden Member
Apr 28, 2007
1,182
0
0
My card runs at ~44C, it is on water though. Temps measured with ATITool.
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
Yea that's some good cooling you've got :)
Did you ever try it on air?

VL
That'll be a nice Folder :) ,LMK what temps you get when you get it folding.


No one else run the GPU client??

[edit]thx Christian ;)
 

waffleironhead

Diamond Member
Aug 10, 2005
6,500
54
101
System
p4 3.0 HT running at 3.2 cpu usage running at around 58-60% strange thing is that if I set affinity to one or the other logical cores it still sits that high. How could it be using one full side of the HT and a percentage of the other? HMM ill have to look into this.
x1950pro256 POWERCOLOR extreme edition at 601/700(mild overclock) running @62C according to ccc

keep in mind I have no AC running so the ambient temps are bringing this up usually sits aroung 58c

[17:51:39] Folding@Home GPU Core - Beta
[17:51:39] Version 0.10 (Mon Oct 30 12:32:17 PST 2006)
[17:51:39]
[17:51:39] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 13.10.3077 for 80x86
[17:51:39] Build host: CYGWIN_NT-5.1 vishal-gpu 1.5.19(0.150/4/2) 2006-01-20 13:28 i686 Cygwin
[17:51:39] Preparing to commence simulation
[17:51:39] - Looking at optimizations...
[17:51:39] - Files status OK
[17:51:39] - Expanded 87089 -> 443713 (decompressed 509.4 percent)
[17:51:39]
[17:51:39] Project: 2743 (Run 1, Clone 104, Gen 48)
[17:51:39]
[17:51:39] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[17:51:39] Entering M.D.
[17:51:46] Working on 1258 p2743_GPUlambda
[17:51:47] Starting GUI Server
[17:59:53] Completed 1
[18:07:57] Completed 2
 

Iron Chef

Member
Jan 1, 2006
73
0
0
I've been folding 24/7 with a x1950pro (Sapphire 100176U) in my socket 754 rig for the last two months. This card has the Zalman VF900 as the stock cooler. I use ATI Tray Tools to control gpu fan speed and to monitor temps. With the gpu fan speed set at 60%, temps usually have been in the mid 50s °C. On hot days, temps have reached 60°C.

The GPU folding client needs a dedicated cpu core due to the way that DirectX 9.0c interacts with the video card. Task Manager shows 100% cpu load while GPU folding.

Edit to add:

According to the GPU FAQ

5. Client looks like it is using lots of CPU time: Graphics drivers must poll the GPU to see if it is done. This will look like a lot of CPU time being used, but nothing is really being done, so one can run other relatively CPU heavy code at the same time. However, we do not recommend running multiple FAH clients, as this can significantly slow down the GPU client. A good rule of thumb: leave at least 25% of the CPU time available for the GPU client.
 

TurtleBlue

Senior member
Feb 10, 2004
351
0
0
Am planning to also aquire an 1950pro card to attach to a 1.9ghz AMD build i did back in April (does not have a vid card currently, vid running off the ASROCK mobo).
Thanks, Assimilator1 for bringing up this topic! It has been an interesting read!

I do plan to run in off air and also putting a Zalman heatsink to replace the one on the card (it seems most complaints about the attached fans are that they are TOO Noisy) so I will try to post results of this new addtion.

I have a question about the card itself - does it matter, crunch production wise, if the card has 256 or 512 megs of ddr3 memory? The answer will affect which of the 2 meg sizes I decide to get.
 

Alyx

Golden Member
Apr 28, 2007
1,182
0
0
Originally posted by: Assimilator1
Yea that's some good cooling you've got :)
Did you ever try it on air?
Never tried it on air. I started it to a BIOS screen when I first got the card just to make sure it worked, then setup the water cooling.
It is a DD Maze4 waterblock and a PA120.3. It would run cooler but my house is around 80-85f normally because air conditioning is too expensive. Stupid two story apartment...
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
waffleironhead
cpu usage running at around 58-60% ,strange thing is that if I set affinity to one or the other logical cores it still sits that high. How could it be using one full side of the HT and a percentage of the other?

A? you seem to be contradicting yourself;) is it the same % on either logical cores or not?:confused:

What are your ambient room temps btw?

Iron chef
Good link ,thanks :)

The GPU GUI client will slow down the scientific core (since both use the GPU heavily). We do not recommend the GUI client for long term use, unless you have two graphics cards.

What do they mean 'scientific core' & why not long term use?

[edit] Do we really need to stick to cat 6.5 or 6.10??:frown:

TurtleBlue
Will be interesting to see what output you get :)
 

GLeeM

Elite Member
Apr 2, 2004
7,199
128
106
The client starts and keeps track of the "scientific core".

The scientific core does the crunching.

If you use the GUI client and have it open on the desktop showing the protein folding you will get less crunching done due to CPU and/or GPU cycles being used to show the pretty pictures/video.

@TurtleBlue
I think the 512 MB cards get better ppd.

I read that some 256 MB cards will cause computer to have really bad lag, if it is not a dedicated rig it may be almost unusable for everyday apps.

Anybody know which cards are good or bad?
 

TurtleBlue

Senior member
Feb 10, 2004
351
0
0
Thanks, GLeeM, for your post!

The 1.9ghz AMD dualcore Brisbane box is strictly for crunching since being built in April '07 (O/C'ing around 2.3ghz for a couple of months already - 24/7). It was a pretty cheap build (used parts from an old athlon build and stuff laying around the apartment - case, floppy, cd & dvd burner, 430W TrueBlue power supply & WinXP O/S) for around $300+. It's not attached to the speakers or the inkjet which is ruled by the (old - gasp!) 3.06ghz Pentium 4 norwood tower.

I will take into consideration going for the 512MB cards if the moths haven't done any heavy damage to my wallet!
 

Alyx

Golden Member
Apr 28, 2007
1,182
0
0
Originally posted by: GLeeM
I read that some 256 MB cards will cause computer to have really bad lag, if it is not a dedicated rig it may be almost unusable for everyday apps.

Anybody know which cards are good or bad?
My card makes my computer lag, not to the point it is unusable though. The mouse just lags occasionally. I got used to it after a day or two.

Mine is a X1900 GT.
 

TurtleBlue

Senior member
Feb 10, 2004
351
0
0
Just put in an order for a Powercolor X1950PRO 512mb card from the egg - should be in by early next week - will keep you guys & dolls posted on this new addition to the mini-fleet at home. :D

 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
Originally posted by: Assimilator1
Do we really need to stick to cat 6.5 or 6.10??:frown:
That would be unfortunate. Even Cat 6.12 doesn't even recognize my X1950GT, being that it is newer than those driver releases.
Will the F@H GPU client run with newer cat versions?


 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
What temps do you get then?

Originally posted by: Iron Chef
Catalyst drivers that work with the GPU client.

The following versions of Catalyst are known to work with the GPU client:

* 6.5
* 6.10 - 6.11
* 7.2 - 7.7
Ah good :) ,then they need to update their GPU FAQ :p

Gleem
Understood now ,thanks:)
Is the GPU GUI client as fast as the console when it's minimised?

And ref which 256MB cards suffer from pausing ,look here

TB
I'll look forwards to the numbers :)

 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,812
9,009
136
I have 4. They all run about 70-79c 24/7. They always take 100% of one core on a dual-core box (I have no single core boxes left), so I run F@H CPU client on the other one. It takes me about 6 1/2 minutes/step @650 mhz.
 

GLeeM

Elite Member
Apr 2, 2004
7,199
128
106
Originally posted by: Assimilator1
Gleem
Understood now ,thanks:)
Is the GPU GUI client as fast as the console when it's minimised?
When minimised, if there is a difference, it would take like a week to see.
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
Ah ok ,I'd like to install the GUI client so I could at least occasional glance at the pretty pictures ;)

Markfw900
Are the dual core rigs as per your sig?
How long have you been running the GPU clients?
(nice car btw:cool: )
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
Ah an old MG Midget,nice:) ,where's the bumper gone?

In the F@H forums ,in 1 thread I looked at there was mention of crunching on AGP cards (X1950 Pros),so yes they have ,but I don't know if anyone has here.
 

Wiz

Diamond Member
Feb 5, 2000
6,453
14
81
I'm going retro with the Midget.
I've had to get some bright bits mailed to me from your fair land.
It's a work in progress - I put a nice straight chrome bumper on the back yesterday, I kind of like the look of the front with no bumper but I'm keeping my eye on ebay for a good used one.
Grilles are quite a thing, I've got a couple of them here. The shiny grille surround was one of the most expensive parts I've bought for it. Well worth it though, the difference it made was really something.
I'll go out & shoot a picture of the back right now...

Back with new bumper

And from the side:
Side with new bumper

I have the front lowered but have not done the back yet. I've also got an old red tail light lens coming, and am looking for another to replace the 70's style that's on there now with the much cooler 60's type.

I'm thinking when it's time to paint it I'll go with British Racing Green.

Uh, ehrm... yeah - folding on the AGP card... and stuff... heh... yeah... Great!
 

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
23,507
203
106
lol ,nice :) ......I thought 4cyl engines was against American religion? ;)
I'll stick with my E36 323i ,I like my mod cons:)

Err ,anyway back on topic;)

Nacelle
What temps do you get & how long have you been running the GPU client?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS