Extremely Strange Issue: Random beeps play through my speakers

Pizzamandible

Dec 16, 2010
I'm a relatively tech literate guy, but this one has me totally stumped.

Recently, my speakers just started to play some random beeps. This is what they sound like: http://www.filedropper.com/whatisthissound (43kB MP3 file). The beeps occur maybe once or twice an hour, and are very loud (seems like the peak volume for whatever the volume setting currently is on the physical speakers).

My relevant basic hardware: Core2Duo E6600, 2GB RAM, XP SP3.

Sound-related gear: SB Live! soundcard, two MIDI keyboard connected via a gameport MIDI adapter and using the line-in for sound, two Yamaha MSP5 Active shielded nearfield studio monitor speakers.

Sound gear configuration: Synth 1 MIDI to Synth 2 MIDI to PC MIDI. Synth 1 audio out to SBLive! line-in. PC audio out to Wii component adapter audio in. Wii component adapter audio out to speakers. LCD monitor speakers are not active.

My troubleshooting:

• I tried recording the sound from my internal soundcard mixer, but, most importantly, the sound does not record from that. (So the sound file above is from an external mic grabbing the sound from the speakers. )
  • I tried updating my sound card drivers (I use SB Live! with KX Project drivers--been using this configuration for years without any issue).
  • Tried opening Task Manager and closing all nonessential programs.
  • Tried running msconfig and stopping all nonessential startup programs.
  • Tried muting my soundcard
Despite all this, the sound still happens. It is definitely coming out of the speakers, not the motherboard speaker.