External Graphics Card

shoultzy

Sep 9, 2013
Well 2 years ago Best Buy screwed over my parents when they tried to buy me the best pre built computer in the store.

Everything is perfect, but the graphics card only has 64 mb dedicated memory...
That's completely and utterly horrible.

But now since my interest has moved to some newer games besides the ones i've been playing for the past 6 years, I need to be able to run them.

I have a laptop, so i can't replace my video card. I'm planning on buying an External Graphics Card.
Everything in the laptop is PERFECT, except for the graphics card. Right now I can't even run BF3 on Low, I compare my specs and everything passes except for the graphics card. So if i get a new graphics card I'll be saving a lot of money.

But I need more information on them, I google them and i don't know what adapter is best? What kind of adapter, if certain video cards don't work for certain adapter, basically just any information.

So if I could just get some information them from somebody that would be great.

Mushkins

Golden Member
Feb 11, 2013
Long story short: don't waste your time.

Can you make an external GPU work? Yes. You aren't just gonna buy a GPU and an adapter and plug it into a USB port though. I've seen people hack together external GPUs for a Macbook using the Thunderbolt connector, but they're clunky, extremely expensive, have a lot of issues, and don't perform as well as they would in a discrete solution.

Unless you're a serious hardware enthusiast doing a hardware mod for fun, it's cheaper and easier to save your money and just buy a new PC with the graphical power you want.

blackened23

Diamond Member
Jul 26, 2011