EVGA 790i Ultra Post Code 7F

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by taliababa, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. taliababa

    taliababa Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just gotten a new Q6600 installed into my 790i Ultra. After I installed the processor I get a long beep, blank screen, and the LCD reads 7F. I reset the cmos before installing the processor (and about 4 other times while troubleshooting). I've removed everything except the processor and ram. Also tried the old processor and get the same error. Prior to installing the quad the system had been up and running without issue.

    Q6600 and E8400
    EVGA 790i Ultra
    2 x 1g OCZ DDR3 1800
    2 x 8800 gtx
    Auzentech X-Fi Prelude

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - EVGA 790i Ultra Forum Date
    EVGA 790i FTW MoBo POST Problem Motherboards Aug 12, 2014
    Crossfire on EVGA 790i Motherboards Oct 18, 2011
    The *Unofficial* eVGA 790i Ultra SLI Thread Motherboards Jun 4, 2008
    XFX or EVGA 790I Motherboard Motherboards Apr 2, 2008
    Motherboard decided. EVGA 790i Motherboards Mar 25, 2008

  3. queequeg99

    queequeg99 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't have your parts but I did a CPU replacement just yesterday and had a somewhat similar problem (i.e. replaced CPU only and machine wouldn't even POST afterward). In my case, the problem was a piece of dust that somehow got trapped underneath the CPU during installation. A quick blast of canned air fixed everything.

     
  4. krnmastersgt

    krnmastersgt Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like the EVGA forums was able to help him out, looks like it was a ram voltage issue, like a lot of boards have.
     
  5. taliababa

    taliababa Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thanks to my girlfriend i'm up and running. It seems that if I connect all four screws that hold down my TRUE 120 it will not boot up. In fact it immediately turns off if 3 or the 4 screws are connected. If I use only 2 screws then it will boot up fine. I'm at a loss. I can't see the backplate contacting any circuitry on the back of the motherboard.