"Eth" vs "Enet"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mixolydian, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Mixolydian

    Mixolydian Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,331
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay, kind of a trivial question, but I just finished installing an Ethernet and telephone jack in every room of the house. Now I want to label each jack to it's corresponding location on the patch panel. I'm having trouble deciding which naming scheme to use: ETH or ENET? Each jack would be labeled "ETH1, ETH2, ETH 3, etc." or "ENET1, ENET1, ENET3, etc."

    HELP!
     
  2. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    8,003
    Likes Received:
    6
    It doesn't really matter for a home installation as long as you know what it means. You could label them BOB1, BOB2, BOB3, BOB4 if you like.

    If the panels have voice and data (phone and network) plugs, I prefer to label them V1 and D1, V2 and D2, and so on.
     
  3. masteryoda34

    masteryoda34 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Linux they are eth0, eth1, etc.
     
  4. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use what ever you want. I tend to use D1 / D2 / V1 etc. Normally I tag the port number on the room side.
     
  5. theevilsharpie

    theevilsharpie Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    1
    You generally want to keep port names short so that the labels are readable.

    My colleagues use D for twisted-pair data cabling and V for phone cabling.
     
  6. skyking

    skyking Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    17,537
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's what I do.
     
  7. Mixolydian

    Mixolydian Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,331
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interesting, hadn't thought about that one.
     
  8. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure to start at 0 for optimum nerd.
     
  9. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patch panel doesn't start at zero so my ports don't either D=
     
  10. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    8,003
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yep. The numbers on the wall ports need to match the numbers on the ports on the patch panel or the numbers are meaningless.
     
    #10 Fardringle, Jan 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
  11. Mixolydian

    Mixolydian Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,331
    Likes Received:
    4
    Decided to go with Enet. :)

    [​IMG]