Question Eliminate power supply wires?

Jeff H

Golden Member
Oct 11, 1999
I've not seen this question in any of the forums I frequent. Let preface with I'm not an electrical engineer, and I don't know what the issues could be in removing unused power supply wires. So, here's the question: is it possible to remove unused power supply wires, on a non-modular unit? Could one cut and cap unused wires? Would this affect the power supply components?

Jeff

thecoolnessrune

Diamond Member
Jun 8, 2005
It's fine to do, and use to be more common in the "old days" with PC Modders before modular power supplies became more of the norm. You can cut them, and to a more extreme end you can open up the PSU and unsolder the wires from the board. Whatever you choose to do, just be very careful to cap off each individual wire with a terminator to prevent shorts. Also note that cables like your ATX Connector still have your signal wire needed to get the power supply to switch on, and if you cut it, you'll still need to find a way to jump that circuit to get the power supply to turn on.

Jeff H

Golden Member
Oct 11, 1999
thecoolnessrune, that's reassuring to know. As I was typing the question, I thought it quite possibly was the dumbest question I'd ever asked on a forum.

I'm getting to do a new build, and got a good deal on an Antec power supply. Only negative is it isn't modular. I thought I could eliminate some of the wires, to tidy things up. Certainly not the 24 wire ATX, or 8 wire cpu, or PCI-E. I guess I'll see how everything fits into the case, before i go to hacking off wires.

sdifox

No Lifer
Sep 30, 2005
Why not just ziptie them? You are going to have to insulate each of the positive wires you cut. That is a lot of work and it ends up looking ugly anyway.

Not to mention you are voiding the warranty.

Reactions: VirtualLarry

CU

Platinum Member
Aug 14, 2000