easiest way to root optimus v?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by Bman123, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I looked online
     
    #1 Bman123, Feb 23, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - easiest root optimus Forum Date
    Easiest GS4 root? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Aug 25, 2013
    Easiest modern way to root galaxy nexus? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Mar 21, 2013
    Easiest nook color 1.3 root? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Jan 3, 2012
    easiest nook color root? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Aug 18, 2011
    Easiest Samsung Fascinate root? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Feb 23, 2011

  3. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Guess you never looked at the device forums I pointed you at. It's a sticky at the very top of the Android Central one.
     
  4. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I actually did look at that but I was looking for a easy one click root like unrevoked or z4root
     
  5. soulcougher73

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,407
    Likes Received:
    135
    Ive briefly researched this for my new V but i dont think a one click set up has been built yet. Its possible if you read the android central forum but i think its about 5 steps but they said it doesnt really take long. maybe 10 mins tops including downloading apps you need. Im going to hold out a bit longer until the ROMS are more established i think.
     
  6. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I watched someone do it on a youtube video but when I tried it didn't work
     
  7. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I'm gonna have to do it the long way then, time to find a good rom that focuses on speed
     
  8. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    If I root with super one click and keep the stock rom do I need to install a backup app our a recovery program?
     
    #7 Bman123, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  9. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    nevermind
     
    #8 Bman123, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  10. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got a different idea now after some thinking, I really don't want to brick my phone so can i do this instead. Root the phone, install super user, install my cpu over clocking app and be fine? If I don't install a custom rom or kernel and leave the stock one on the phone and use it I shouldn't need to backup or do any kind of recovery software right?

    I'm thinking of doing this until I read up more and get comfortable with installing a rom
     
  11. jae

    jae Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its super easy just take your time.. install your drivers, download all the software listed into a folder in the root of your harddrive (C:\), follow the steps slowly.. u can even just copy and paste the commands line by line.
     
  12. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I really want to just do the cpu overclocking the most to make the phone faster, the phone is fine but more speed would be better lol. If I root with super one click install super user and cpu overclocking atop will I need to back up anything since there is not a rom going on the phone since I'm sticking with the stock rom
     
  13. RavenSEAL

    RavenSEAL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got mine, and it's ridiculously super snappy. As quick to respond as my friends' G2 if you ask me.
     
  14. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found a one click method that roots, installs all necessary drivers, and puts a custom recovery on your phone that will let you back up all your info and flash custom roms. I found a custom rom that is the stock virgin mobile rom with all the bloat ware removed. None of those crappy VM apps are on the phone. When you start the phone the stupid virgin mobile splash screen and sound is totally gone. It goes from saying LG to android.

    This was super easy to do. The rom has a overclockable kernal also. I overclocked my cpu from 600mhz to 760mhz and it is way smoother, alot faster now. I can text and the phone keeps up with me, even when I use swype. If interested let me know and I can post the links to where I got this info from.
     
  15. RavenSEAL

    RavenSEAL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    1
    sure, i wouldn't mind taking a peek.
     
  16. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here is the link to the page that has the simple root and recovery tool all in one
    http://forum.androidcentral.com/opt...d-recovery-flasher-v1-0-drivers-root-too.html

    Here is a link to the thread on the rom that I used
    http://forum.androidcentral.com/optimus-v/58893-rom-stock-virgin-mobile-xionia-kernel-beta-2-a.html

    If you do it I just ask you sign up to that website as it is very useful and give the guys thanks for putting that stuff on there. I looked forever and all over trying to find a good legit recovery for this phone and he just posted it today. You'll see my name is on there as the first post under his for the recovery and I post on page 25 of the rom.

    There is other roms there also, there is a 2.3 gingerbread rom and a couple others. I just went with the stock virgin mobile one without the bloatware as I like the phone the way it is, I just wanted to overclock my cpu and get rid of the junk apps.
     
  17. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can only get my cpu to be stable at 780mhz but that is a darn good jump in speed It is very noticeable also. Everything is way smoother and feels snappy now. If you like the phone now wait til you get a decent overclock on it and you will love it.

    If you need any help you can email me thru my profile and it will go to my Optimus v and I can respond right away and help you out if you need it. That site is very good and has alot of good info on it. You'll probably enjoy hanging out there as the people there aren't pricks like most of the guys over at XDA
     
  18. bswann

    bswann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I downloaded Romtools and Recovery flasher and the rom you used but, I am not sure on what to do now. Do I use both programs? if yes which one do I use first? I know I have to put the rom in the rom folder. All I want is to remove the bloatware and maybe overclock.
     
  19. sjwaste

    sjwaste Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    8,769
    Likes Received:
    1
  20. bswann

    bswann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know but, bman123 can answer these questions too. I now know I can just use ROMTools to do all of this but, in what order? Do I do the recovery first then the flash or vice versa and does the phone need to be connected the whole time? with debugging?
     
  21. Bman123

    Bman123 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use debugging first, then do the recovery, make a back up from within the recovery, after that flash your custom rom
     
  22. bswann

    bswann Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, Thank you
     
  23. jrichrds

    jrichrds Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    ROMTools made it very easy to get the custom recovery onto the phone, but I couldn't get the "Flash ROM to Phone" feature to work. Ended up just copying the Xionia-VM.zip to SD and installing thru the custom recovery interface on the phone.

    Compared to the stock ROM, does the phone take slightly longer to wake from sleep when you press one of the keys after going to stock ROM + Xionia beta 2?
     
    #22 jrichrds, Mar 15, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
  24. ashton

    ashton Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, I'm new to this so bare with me. I was wondering what I can do to back up my original rom? For some reason when I go into the stock recovery mode it doesnt give me an option to back up to SD. Does the Romtools or recovery flasher allow that? What is the precedure for this?

    Also I was wondering do you guys agree this beta rom is the way to go? I want speed up the thing just like everyone else but I dont want to lose any features the phone already has.
     
  25. ashton

    ashton Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran ROMtools and ran the "flash recovery phone". It finished doing the temp root and then reboot the phone. It rebooted into the regular screen with the 4 stock recovery options, nothing more, no custom recovery menu. To be honest all I want to do is Root the phone to overclock a bit. From what I understand I need to install a new rom to ROOT but I am stuck and can't figure out what else to do? I would really appreciate some detailed help on this. Anyone give me you email for paypal and I'll pay someone if they can help me. [​IMG] I have the Xionia-VM ROM and the original VM ROM for back up)


    Update: Found out I needed to rename the image file called "recovery" to "vrecovery" in the ROMtools folder then after that the temp root installed and it rebooted into the new Recovery Menu. That should have been advised at the beginning. I ended up finding out from someone else in another post.
     
    #24 ashton, Mar 15, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011
  26. ricksta01

    ricksta01 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to root my optimus v. I am having trouble with the different tutorials! :S superoneclick says its rooted but my phone(according to titanium backup) is still not rooted. pleeeeease help! :)