DVI to HDMI will allow me higher resolution?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by whatever61, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. whatever61

    whatever61 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought Dell UltraSharp U2713HM, trying to connect to my laptop and use it with the max. resolution, which is 2560 x 1440.
    Problem is that I don't have DVI nor DisplayPort in my laptop.
    HDMI supports max. 1920x1080 and with the regular VGA I managed to achieve 2048 x something (don't remember already =) ).

    My question is simple, if I will buy HDMI => DVI or DVI => HDMI adapter will I be able to get the 2560 x 1440 resolution?
    I mean I will connect the HDMI part to my laptop and the DVI to the monitor (or should I do the other way around?)

    My video card supports the resolution.
    My laptop has GeForce 620M with HD4000.

    If yes, then any adapter will do?

    P.S. - I tried to add custom resolutions, but it didn't work.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,114
    Likes Received:
    3
  3. blackened23

    blackened23 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    The above No answer is correct. To expand:

    HDMI won't work for higher than 1080p even with adapter. The issue is 99% of all HDMI connectors aren't 1.4, *no* TVs are HDMI 1.4, and there aren't any monitors on the market with 1.4 HDMI, it's pretty ridiculous. Basically HDMI = 1080p period end of story, nothing you can do. You need to use displayport, but I suspect your model doesn't have a DP.

    There are some ultrabooks that *only* have HDMI out and I've talked to a few friends in this same situation - they cannot get higher than 1080p no matter what. This is pretty much inexcusable because it allows only the macbooks and very few ultrabooks capable of higher than 1080p. (because they have displayport/thunderbolt out)

    Luckily, most 2013 model ultrabooks will have displayport instead of the crap HDMI - If you're still able to return your ultrabook, look for one with displayport. Macbooks also work if you're into that stuff.
     
    #3 blackened23, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
  4. whatever61

    whatever61 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the response.

    I bought a new monitor, not a new laptop (especially no one was talking about ultrabooks) =)

    When I will get a new laptop, I will make sure it has DVI or DisplayPort.

    What about the regular VGA port? I managed to get to a higher resolution there. Maybe something possible to do about this?
     
  5. blackened23

    blackened23 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Modern day laptop/ultrabooks aren't likely to have DVI any longer (due to port size -- too large for ultrabook specifications); maybe full size laptops.

    From what I remember, VGA is limited to 2048*1536.
     
  6. Cadarin

    Cadarin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might be able to get it to display the higher resolution with a lower refresh rate. Try setting a custom resolution again with 35hz to see if it works, then if it does you can try raising it to 40 and maybe 50hz. Not a perfect solution, but some people on this thread thought it was worth it: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1479962
     
  7. whatever61

    whatever61 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read about it..

    However, when I try setting it to 35hz, it tells me that's not a valid resolution.
    If I do same resolution but with 59hz it will accept it (but just won't work later on).

    I'm doing it in the Intel Graphic cards options.
     
Loading...