DVI to HDMI cuts off the edges of the screen no matter what I do?!

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by RollWave, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. RollWave

    RollWave Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I currently run an HDMI switch because I need 4 inputs but my tv only has 2...anyways, I had my HTPC connected to my tv via VGA, but just for ease of use I wanted to use HDMI. So I bought a DVI to HDMI adapter and also a DVI to HDMI cord. Both of them when implemented dont show proper resolution on my 42" HDTV (1080p). What is the problem here? I dont get why this is happening! Anyone have a solution?
     
  2. taltamir

    taltamir Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    13,574
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. RollWave

    RollWave Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah! Didnt know this phenomenon existed with LCD tvs as well! Thanks for the info.
     
  4. BassBomb

    BassBomb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find out how your tv displays 1:1 use that mode first of all.

    Make sure you are setting your video card to output 1920x1080 @60hz and force this if its not available on the list.

    Then see if it fits... If it still does not fit, you can reduce your resolution slightly such that it fits 1:1 (Called resize HDTV desktop on nVidia)

     
  5. PieIsAwesome

    PieIsAwesome Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or if you have an ATI card there is overscan adjustment in Catalyst Control Center.
     
  6. Xcobra

    Xcobra Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    QFT. That's what I did with mine.