DVD to mp4 or .avi

69Rixter

Junior Member
Sep 5, 2018
17
4
51
I'm certain I've used "Any video Converter" previously to rip DVD's to desired format. However now, I cannot load the DVD. Every time program replies "No usable CD drive found". Always before, the program loaded/opened the DVD and showed the videos on the DVD. Can anyone tell me what has changed or what I must do to get the program to recognize the DVD? Way it is now, I've got to rip the DVD to MKV, then convert the MKV to the desired format. Appreciated

Rick
 

C1

Platinum Member
Feb 21, 2008
2,316
76
91
Seems to me that something similar happened to me, but it was long time ago & dont remember the specifics.

Go to "system" in Control Panel & see if the DvD/CD drive shows up. :

- If drive shows, then Delete/Remove it, then reboot & OS should re-find it and install driver with reset settings.

- If no show then I'll have to think about what more to do. Some possibilities are to :
- Ensure DvD/CD shows in BIOS
- If not, disconnect drive, reboot, shutdown, reconnect drive then reboot and hopefully system (including OS) will find/recognize it.
- Otherwise, you might have to flash your DvD/CD drive's firmware, but if you do that then do the existing upgrade.


Good Luck
 
  • Like
Reactions: bigboxes

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
28,002
19,027
146
Did you do the usual? Uninstall and reinstall AVC, and confirmed all drivers and devices are installed and up to date? Because I just downloaded it and it worked fine. Used my special edition DVD of Aliens and it loaded it up and converted to WMV for Xbox 360 without issue. It stopped after less than 3 minutes of video though, and popped up the buy now options since I am guessing it is a demo only for free? I have never used it before.
 

69Rixter

Junior Member
Sep 5, 2018
17
4
51
RE: C1 & DAPUNISHER

Hey... thanx for responding. First I'll answer C1's questions; "Go to "system" in Control Panel & see if the DvD/CD drive shows up" YES "Ensure DvD/CD shows in BIOS" YES can't/won't disconnect drive for it's internal DAPUNISHER; "Did you do the usual" Yes Excuse me, "It stopped after less than 3 minutes of video though"...uhm...didn't have that happen now or before. Hmmm...??? Are you sure it was AVC? I believe it's "open-source" and not required to buy(?) The program I'm using (AVC Free) has not asked for a "purchase" to continue using. (I see there are 2 AVC's that can be purchased, but I'm not using either). I'm certain the program is the one I've used previously. OK, appreciate both your help. I'll keep trying and see what I come up with. What I'm doing now, is converting to MKV file, then converting that file to MP4. Just an extra "step" in the conversion process. A "workaround" if you say ;) THANKS fellas
 
  • Like
Reactions: DAPUNISHER

69Rixter

Junior Member
Sep 5, 2018
17
4
51
OK, deleted/re-installed AVC (Free). Got it load DVD...sorry to say, it only converted 4 mins. of each episode I loaded(???) Don't know yet, but AVC may have put limitations on their "free" software. Checking into that. DAPUNISHER might be correct in saying you must buy AVC "PRO' or 'Ultimate" to get a complete DVD conversion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DAPUNISHER

69Rixter

Junior Member
Sep 5, 2018
17
4
51
EVERYONE: Found out new, free version of AVC does, indeed, prohibit DVD rip and will only transfer roughly 3-5 minutes of a video file. Alas, all good things must come to an end:cry:OK, with AVC I did find a "workaround"; when you download it, do not check "search for updates", this is where I screwed up. Or just D/l an older version of AVC. HOWEVER, while I was "testing" AVC I was also testing other programs. I'm happy to announce I've found FormatFactory. Been using this program, extensively, the past few days and am getting to like it. It does allow DVD rip to many different formats, has plenty of "toys" to play with and is fairly simple to use. You might give it a "go". That said, think I'm going to give FormatFactory a run for awhile and see if there's anything that is a bummer with this program. Appreciate all who've replied
 
  • Like
Reactions: DAPUNISHER

69Rixter

Junior Member
Sep 5, 2018
17
4
51
Been using FF for a few weeks and am satisfied with it. Am having one problem....getting it to rip directly from DVD. And, that said, has anyone been using "Handbrake", I, also, cannot get it to rip/convert directly from DVD. One last bit, I've torrented some TV shows that were MKV and those files were extremely small compared to what I rip from a DVD. Why/how is this done? THANKS to all who've helped out on this thread