Dry Amorphous vs. Crystaline Structure

coxmaster

Diamond Member
Dec 14, 2007
Is this related to chemistry/chemical structure?

If so, Crystalline structure is something like diamond: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crystal_structure
And an Amorphous solid is similar to Jello.

Yes, im a Chemistry noob. But those are REALLY easy to remember

If this isnt about chemistry, or im totally wrong. Pretend i wasnt here

DrPizza

Administrator Elite Member Goat Whisperer
Mar 5, 2001
www.slatebrookfarm.com
chocolate bar: amorphous.
Next?

Tell you what. Let's make it easy. Food, right?
Crystalline:
rockcandy1.jpg

Pretty much everything else: amorphous. (at least, I can't think of any other foods that have a crystalline structure, unless you're talking about ice crystals on something in the freezer, or ice crystals that form if your milk gets too cold.)

Last edited:
Dec 10, 2005

If so, Crystalline structure is something like diamond: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crystal_structure

Yes, im a Chemistry noob. But those are REALLY easy to remember

If this isnt about chemistry, or im totally wrong. Pretend i wasnt here

I'd probably just go with:

Crystalline structure: repeating pattern of identical units in 3 dimensional space (like a salt crystal, ice, ....)

Amorphous solid: no repeating pattern, but still solid, like a glass (windows, etc...)

TuxDave

Lifer
Oct 8, 2002
Next?

Tell you what. Let's make it easy. Food, right?
Crystalline:

Pretty much everything else: amorphous. (at least, I can't think of any other foods that have a crystalline structure, unless you're talking about ice crystals on something in the freezer, or ice crystals that form if your milk gets too cold.)

SugarCookies_Close.jpg

What about foods with both! :D

gorcorps

aka Brandon
Jul 18, 2004
I came in here all excited because it's one of the few technical things asked here on ATOT that I know (materials engineer)... then found it already answered.

Ah well

DrPizza