Don't feel like studying? What if I pay you?

Exterous

Super Moderator
Jun 20, 2006
"IF we don't do something"??? How about getting the damn parents involved! Paying them to study is not going to do anything for them in the long run other than teach them bad habits

erub

Diamond Member
Jun 21, 2000
In HS, I was a pretty unmotivated student, especially my freshman year. My parents paid me $50 for each A per quarter starting in my sophmore year. The result was I worked harder, and then got a free ride and then some on an academic scholarship for undergrad (which motivated me also, because I had to keep above a 3.5 GPA to keep it). The result of that was that I got a free ride for a masters program. I now have my MSEE, having received about 150K in free education + scholarships for their roughly $2K investment over my last 3 years in HS. I'd say thats not a bad ROI.

OTOH, my parents have told me that such tricks wouldnt have worked on my sister, for her getting an education was good enough, and she's never been (still isn't really) motivated by money. She just finished her medical residency. I was/am interested in getting the latest electronic toys so it was either invest the time studying or have a part-time job..guess it all worked out in the end :p

Jeff7

Lifer
Jan 4, 2001
Originally posted by: erub
In HS, I was a pretty unmotivated student, especially my freshman year. My parents paid me $50 for each A per quarter starting in my sophmore year. The result was I worked harder, and then got a free ride and then some on an academic scholarship for undergrad (which motivated me also, because I had to keep above a 3.5 GPA to keep it). The result of that was that I got a free ride for a masters program. I now have my MSEE, having received about 150K in free education + scholarships for their roughly $2K investment over my last 3 years in HS. I'd say thats not a bad ROI.