Does your Air Condition slows your car acceleration???

Status
Not open for further replies.

stso

Platinum Member
Nov 17, 2000
I'm driving 5-speed mustang, and it slows down my acceleration :Q

Edit: As requested, I'm driving 2000 5-Speed Mustang Coupe w/ 190 Horse Power. No money for the GT cus I'm a poor college student :|

Thread closed due to necro-bump.

Zenmervolt - AnandTech Moderator

Last edited by a moderator:

Sluggo

Lifer
Jun 12, 2000
Your A/C creates an extra load on your motor, so simple physics would dictate that YES, there will be a corresponding performance drop.

Operating power windows during acceleration in some cars will produce a noticeable drop in power.

Unsickle

Golden Member
Feb 1, 2000

<< Operating power windows during acceleration in some cars will produce a noticeable drop in power. >>

Those are some sucky cars. Electrical system designed by dummies? Hah.

dawks

Diamond Member
Oct 9, 1999
Yes it will. If you listen to your car while idleing, and turn on the A/C, you should notice the car's rpm increase, becuase the A/C compressor is taking more juice to turn it. Thats why its only on half the time, even when your A/C is running. Normally, you shouldnt have a problem with this... with standard everyday driving, but when ever it looks like I might be racing someone off of a stop light, I shut off the A/C ;)

It also takes more gas. As for the window issue, its not that big of a deal in most vehicles, but it is there. I dont think it would noticably affect your acceleration.. but I can hear my dads cars engine rev up when im lowering, or raising the windows.

Aihyah

Banned
Apr 21, 2000
my civics accel is lousy i guess, so i don't notice it getting any worse with ac on:) course being comfy is better then being fast:)

Brian Mc

Oct 12, 1999
You don't say which Mustang you have, but on mine (an SN95 GT) there is a relay that disengages the a/c clutch at WOT, so it's not really a problem.

Migroo

Diamond Member
Jul 14, 2001