Does SRT work on a dual SSD system?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by HexiumVII, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. HexiumVII

    HexiumVII Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just order 128GB of Samsung 830 and a OCZ Agility 3 (damn you NE sales!). I currently have an 80GB G2 SSD on both my systems (mostly identical except for mobo, i920s). Well the insane upgrade bug hit me hard. I upgrading to Ivy and now got 4 SSDs to play musical charis with. I'm thinking 128GB as boot drives and the 80GB G2 as SRT drives. Is that possible? I've only seen SRT work on boot drive with the crazy workaround way.
     
  2. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    4
  3. IntelEnthusiast

    IntelEnthusiast Intel Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are talking about Intel® SRT (Smart Response Technology) then the answer is really no. The reason behind Intel SRT is by using a small SSD (<64GB) you are able to cache files on it when you are using a normal HDD to give you better performance on access and boot time with anything cached on it. Think of Intel SRT as a shortcut to the performance that you would get from using a larger SSD as a boot drive. In the end it isnt as fast as good SSD set up as a boot drive but it is much faster than a HDD.
     
  4. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for that explanation, Chris. I wish OPs would define their acronyms when first used, especially when there are several meanings to the same one. (Basic tech writing 101.) :)
     
  5. IntelEnthusiast

    IntelEnthusiast Intel Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok you got me to with the HDD (hard disk drive) and SSD (Solid State Drive) :D
     
  6. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    4
    Those are quite common and no apparent multiple meanings. <LOL>
     
  7. HexiumVII

    HexiumVII Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about the acronyms guys. But seriously, if you don't know what SRT is already, Smart Response Technology doesn't really help much either!
     
  8. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Point this side.
     
  9. MrX8503

    MrX8503 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't do an SSD boot drive with Intel SRT, its kind of redundant and would probably slow it down. What you could do however is have an SSD Boot, 1TB HDD for games or other files, and then have Intel SRT to boost the speed of your 1TB HDD.
     
  10. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think the Intel SRT would slow it down.
     
  11. MrX8503

    MrX8503 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Agility 3 is slower than the 830. Instead of retrieving the file directly from the 830 it has to get it from the slower drive (Agility 3). In the realworld you probably wouldn't notice though.
     
  12. bryanW1995

    bryanW1995 Lifer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    11,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...
     
    #12 bryanW1995, Mar 22, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  13. slpnshot

    slpnshot Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I'm willing to sacrifice a bit of SSD speed for an overall HDD speed boost, is it recommended to do the SRT setup?

    I'm getting a 128 SSD so I was planning on using half as the boot OS and 20gb~(I think it's 18 max) of whatever is left as the cache for my HDD.
     
  14. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,517
    Likes Received:
    0
    @slpnshot

    Depends on what you have on the HDD. If they're files you frequently access and you feel you'd benefit from accessing them faster then yes.

    SRT can use a partition up to 60gb in size.