does splitting internet with ethernet splitter reduce connection speed greatly?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Semidevil, May 27, 2007.

  1. Semidevil

    Semidevil Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a laptop that is in pretty bad condition, but 70% of the time, it will function fine without shutting down.

    I want to go ahead have it share the internet connection with my current desktop. My plan was to just buy a cheap ethernet splitter and connect them all together. If I do that, does it reduce internet speed greatly? If it's to the point of unuseability, then it's not worth it, considering the laptop itself is kind of crappy.

    what do you think? any suggestions?

    btw, I dont use internet for online games or anything. mostly anandtech, other forums, and occasional youtube/facebook/myspace.

    also, is ethernet hub and splitter the same thing for my needs?
     
  2. Eli

    Eli Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    50,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is an "ethernet splitter"? Do you mean a hub/switch?

    In any case.. Your bandwidth is your bandwidth. It does not matter which computer you are accessing the bandwidth from, all of it will be available - assuming no other computers on the network are using any.
     
  3. sandorski

    sandorski No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    61,177
    Likes Received:
    20
    Shouldn't affect Speed at all. It might affect the Quality of your connection, if anything. I'm not an IT/Network kinda guy though, so whether that would happen or what it would mean should be answered by someone else.
     
  4. Severian

    Severian Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    by cheap ethernet splitter, are you referring to a router?

    Any device that splits the connectivity of your internet connection generally just makes the bandwidth available to multiple users. That bandwidth is shared, but each user has the use of 100% of the connection's total bandwidth if no one else is using it.

    Are we talking about a cable modem or DSL connection?
     
  5. Semidevil

    Semidevil Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have a cable connection currently. I"m not sure what's it called, but its one of thse 10 dollar cheap hubs.....about 6 inch length, rectangular, and has 6 ethernet jacks available.

    btw, any reccomendations on what type of hub to buy?
     
  6. Schfifty Five

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have DSL or cable internet, get a router and plug your comps into that. You will not see any slow downs on any computer.
     
  7. Schfifty Five

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dlink Routers are usually hassle free from what i've experienced.
     
  8. Vegitto

    Vegitto Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you already have one, why not just try it? The most you can lose is like 2 hours. Try and see, and report back. :)
     
  9. RaiderJ

    RaiderJ Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe if you have an internet connection to share you have to use a router, just a hub doesn't "split" the outside connection.
     
  10. mh47g

    mh47g Senior member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to figure out why this is in off-topic :confused:. As others have said, no, it will not affect your speed in the slightest.
     
  11. Semidevil

    Semidevil Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    0

    well actually I dont have one. I need to buy one, that's why I want to make sure to buy the right one.
     
  12. Severian

    Severian Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    another thing to consider is that some ISP's do not allow sharing of your IP address, otherwise known as multiple connections like you want to do. A router neatly gets around this by using NAT to hand out different addresses while blocking your IP's ability to see you have more than one computer connected to your cable modem.

    I've been using a cheap TrendNet router for four years with no problems at all. Even does port-forwarding and VPN, etc. I got it at Newegg for less than $30.
     
  13. TheRyuu

    TheRyuu Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,393
    Likes Received:
    4
  14. Eli

    Eli Super Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    50,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, you want a router.. not a hub. A hub will be a pain in the ass with the setup you want.
     
  15. chusteczka

    chusteczka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    configuration one
    [coaxial cable line] --- [coaxial cable modem] --- [firewall/router] --- [one or more computers connected to the routher through separate ethernet cables]

    configuration two
    [coaxial cable line] --- [coaxial cable splitter (small rectangle with three coaxial connections)] --- [two separate coaxial cables typically directed to two separate cable boxes]

    The second configuration may allow for one coaxial cable to connect to a cable television box with the second coaxial cable connecting to an internet cable modem. Which setup are you talking about?

    Multiple computers are connected to a router/firewall that further connects to the cable modem, such as in configuration one above. A router does not create a weaker signal for multiple computers. Multiple computers accessing a common internet connection will have to share that connection so the internet connection may appear slower for any one computer. However, current cable connections are faster than most single home computer connections require so it is doubtful any slowed connection will be noticed.

    Splitting a coaxial cable, such as in configuration two, does reduce the strength of the signal and the weakened signal can often be noticed but I do not think this is what you are asking. Additionally, I am not familiar with the resolution to this problem. I think the cable company would have to install a signal repeater outside of the home to strengthen the signal before it is split within the home.
     
  16. RossMAN

    RossMAN Grand Nagus

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    77,750
    Likes Received:
    15
  17. WobbleWobble

    WobbleWobble Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can actually. If your ISP offers you more than one IP, you can use a hub/switch to tap into those extra IPs.
     
  18. Platypus

    Platypus Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    30,544
    Likes Received:
    2
    edit: I can't read
     
  19. 0roo0roo

    0roo0roo No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    64,523
    Likes Received:
    5
    frys always has sales on cheap airlink routers. they work
     
  20. imported_Baloo

    imported_Baloo Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing will split the "Outside connection." A hub will do what the OP wants, but he would do better to buy a router.
     
  21. Semidevil

    Semidevil Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, so I"ll be needing a router right? not a hub, and not a switch....just want to make sure.

    oh btw, why would I not want a hub??


    btw, this will be wired, if that makes any difference.

    example: this??http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-EN104TP-4-Port-Ethernet-Uplink/dp/B00000J4M9/ref=pd_bbs_sr_4/002-8359402-8527200?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1180299751&sr=8-4
     
  22. Special K

    Special K Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    7,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would they not need a router? Unless their ISP allows more than one IP, wouldn't plugging two computers into a hub or switch be pointless?
     
  23. Platypus

    Platypus Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    30,544
    Likes Received:
    2
    edit: I can't read
     
  24. 0roo0roo

    0roo0roo No Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    64,523
    Likes Received:
    5
    you need a router
    hub would require you set one of your pcs to do the internet connection sharing with 2 network cards..and you would have to leave it on.
    i've seen airlink routers from 9-20bucks:p
     
  25. Semidevil

    Semidevil Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    went ahead and added a poll as there seems to be a bit debate between some folks.