Does overclocking cause instability in games?

3MDR

Jan 9, 2009
Might be a newbie question, but I am new to overclocking.

I have an e8400 overclocked to 3.87 gHz

I did not overclock it manually, I used Gigabyte's EasyTune application that came with my EP45-DS3L

Looking at what the application did, it had to overclock my 4 gig 800 mHz ram.

Yesterday I was playing Warcraft 3, and twice I got fatal errors that crashed me to desktop. Is this a problem with the overclocking? I don't know whether the crashes are due to the overclocking or due to the game.

cubeless

Diamond Member
Sep 17, 2001
easy way to test, set to defaults and try again...

but yes, oc'ing can cause crashes... i have had boxes that only crash in one app and are fine if i back off a bit...

3MDR

Jan 9, 2009
Could it be due to overclocking my ram? If so, I may have to go down to 3.6 ghz.

Also, my CPU get as hot as 38 degrees Celsius when under load at 3.8 gHz, is this normal? Normally it is 25 at idle.

One more thing: if it is my overclocked ram that's causing the crashes, should I go for 1066 mHz ram or is that too much for the e8400?

katank

Jul 18, 2008
Do it through BIOS. Don't use the software. Read the C2D OC sticky at top. If you stress tested thoroughly, you should be OK in most cases. I can't think of any games that produce as much system stress as Linpack and Furmark running simultaneously.

3MDR

Jan 9, 2009
Would I get better stability by manually setting the overclock? Is Gigabyte's EasyTune application the problem?

Cogman

Lifer
Sep 19, 2000
Your temperature is fine, I've seen systems run stable at 60C. If overclocking is causing instability (as it very well may be) try reducing the overclock or upping the voltage.

dwell

pics?
Oct 9, 1999