Do you think college/university degrees are necessary?

ThePresence

Elite Member
Nov 19, 2001
I have a masters degree. Big deal. It is meaningless to me, because what I do today has nothing whatsoever to do with what I studied. When I hire people, I hire based on ability, not schooling. If someone never went to school a day in his life but can do the job I need him to do, he has a better shot than some guy with a degree who 'might' be able to do it. I don't think I'm the only one who feels that degrees are becoming more and more obsolete.

Svnla

Lifer
Nov 10, 2003
I don't think a person with a college degree is "smarter" than a person without but at many places, a BS/BA is a minimum requirement just to get past the first step in HR (ie. no college degree = resume is in the trash can), such as my current place of employment.

Farmer

Diamond Member
Dec 23, 2003
Schooling can be one of several indicators of ability.

Otherwise, yeah, I'd say 90% of people don't get much out of college/schooling.

On the other hand, attending school has made me less ignorant. I think it's necessary.

If your only concern in life is 9-5 paycheck, then no, probably not "necessary."

It depends on your field. For most work that is done, nothing you would learn in college would be helpful.

Duder1no

Nov 1, 2010
I agree.

A degree is not indicative of intelligence and/or capacity, there are many talented people without studies that put those with degrees to shame.

mmntech

Lifer
Sep 20, 2007
I've said many times That I wished I hadn't gone to university. It provided background and taught me how to write, but I didn't need five years to do that.

Technical degrees and diplomas are different.

nageov3t

Lifer
Feb 18, 2004
they're "necessary" insofar as for many jobs, employers use it as an automatic threshold to clear out resumes.

but the vast majority of these jobs, especially non-technical, could be done without it.

highland145

Lifer
Oct 12, 2009