Do I need to upgrade my HTPC

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by eatdoku, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. eatdoku

    eatdoku Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Following is what I have running right now, and I am having a difficult time running 3D bluray iso smoothly with PowerDVD. Some movies are good but some are lagging. Can anyone give me a suggestion if the setup is good enough for playing back 3D movies? or should I be upgrading.

    AMD Athlon 64 4850e
    GA-MA78GM-S2H
    4G RAM
    Radeon HD 6450

    thanks,
     
    #1 eatdoku, Nov 24, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  2. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you overclock your CPU ?

    see if that helps before you buy a new HTPC
     
  3. eatdoku

    eatdoku Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    right i'll give it a try first,

    but what would affect the playback experience? the cpu or the gpu?

    thanks
     
  4. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Auric

    Auric Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    9,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    The HD 6450 is likely borderline due to its 64-bit bus (unrelated to model name, per se). So, you can try both with and without PowerDVD option for hardware acceleration (also perhaps disable video processing options in both PDVD and CCC). Of course when HWA is disabled decode will rely upon the CPU. If that does not provide sufficient performance then it would probably be best to replace the GPU -maybe with at least a 6570 128-bit, 6670, or 7750.
     
Loading...