Do I need a firewall? Screen shot included.

Mears

Platinum Member
Mar 9, 2000
Ok, here is the screenshot:

Screen Shot

It looks like I have some open ports. Since, I'm going to be running a FTP server, I'll probably have some nefarious people connecting to my computer. Should I force SSH on my FTP server, or will that prevent some FTP browser clients from logging on?

Lastly, in reference to those other ports that are open, should I get a firewall to protect them? I've never used one before so I really don't know what is involved in setting them up. Do you just pick which ports you want it to protect or does it protect all ports? Will this affect any of the settings of programs I use on the net? I notice that many file sharing programs require you to set things up differently if you are behind a firewall. Also, which of these open ports should I be worried about?

Saltin

Platinum Member
Jul 21, 2001
A firewall is always a good idea. You can download a nice free one at www.zonealarm.com
The zonealarm firewall is pretty darn easy to use. After you install it, it will notify you whenever an app or process attempts to access the net. What you then do is give it a yes or no, and you can tell it to remember your answer from here on in.
Don't be afraid to try it out, the learning curve is tiny.
The big benifit is that no app/process can contact the web without your say so. It gives you a nice picture of what is going on behind the scene. On top of that, it closes all the ports on your box that are in the listening state and do not need to be. No one can ping you, no one can scan you. You can also read about all the attempts of others to scan you, etc in the notification area.
It's amazing how many people are port scanning!

RayH

Jun 30, 2000
You might want to consider a hardware router with built in firewall. You can open up just the port for ftp and most of the built in firewalls can make you unpingable.

Searching

Jun 12, 2001